PDA

View Full Version : Thermal Sailor EP?

Mitch
09-04-2006, 10:30 PM
I'm a beginner, and looking for a good, basic, electric sailplane ARF that has sufficient power to climb well. I have seen various posts that say the Aspire EP and and Spectra are underpowered. I am considering buying a Thermal Sailor EP (made by Airborne Models). I see in the ads that it uses a "550L" motor with a gear drive; the latter may boost performance. Does anyone know anything about this model? Any comments will be apreciated, especially those that relate to how this model flys, the quality of its construction, and what might be available that is better. I want a balsa/covered model, not a "foamy". Thanks.
Mitch

Don Sims
09-05-2006, 02:01 AM
Welcome to the site Mitch. Gear drives do help but if you can afford it spend the money up front for a brushless system.

Mitch
09-05-2006, 02:23 PM
Don: