PDA

View Full Version : Lipo 3S vs 4S?


Jeff85
09-04-2005, 10:25 PM
How many cells for the Cyclon Elite 18 in my 3 meter 6lb plane?
This web site says 3-6 cells;
http://www.atlantahobby.com/shopexd.asp?id=5646 (http://www.atlantahobby.com/shopexd.asp?id=5646)
Elite 18 Specifications Metric
Weight Airplane (Max) 11.02 Lbs 5 KG
Weight Sailplane (Max) 17.64 Lbs 8 KG
Suggested Prop 16X10 to 18X13
Weight 8.8 oz 250G
Diameter 1.4 Inch 36mm
Length 3.2 Inch 82mm
Shaft 6mm
Current 55A
Max Current 70A
Efficiency % 89%
Lipo-Cells 3-6
NIMH/NICAD 10-18
Resistance Ohm 0.019
IoA 2.7
KV RPM/V 2611
Gearbox KV RPM/V 390
Gearbox ratio 6.7
Normal Power (Watts) 1000
Max Power (Watts) 1200
Suggested ESC 50-100



The instructions that came with the motor say 2-3 cells?
I'm confused

The difference to me is using the Thunder Power TP8000 3s4P or TP8000 4s4P
http://www.thunderpower-batteries.c.../batteries.html (http://www.thunderpower-batteries.com/html/batteries.html)
TP8000-3S4P 8000 mAh(11.1V), 4-pin balancer connector
Rating: 1--12C continuous, 18C (144A) burst
Output: 11.1V Nominal, 8000mAh
Dimension: 50mm x 185mm x 29mm
Weight: 474 grams

TP8000-4S4P 8000 mAh(14.8V), 6-pin balancer connector
Rating: 10-12C continuous, 18C (144A) burst
Output: 14.8V Nominal, 8000mAh
Dimension: 50mm x 245mm x 29mm
Weight: 633 grams

davidleitch ran some calcs in motorcal and said the Elite 18 would need 13 volts. If that is true, wouldn't I need the 4S4P of 14.8v to run my system?
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...4&page=10&pp=15 (http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=280474&page=10&pp=15) post #150

I would like to use the 4s4p but I don't want to exceed any limits. Do you think this would be O.K.?

Matt Kirsch
09-06-2005, 04:03 AM
The only way to alleviate this confusion is to ask AtlantaHobby.com directly. They need to know that the instructions and their website contradict each other.

For a 6lb, 3m sailplane, I would say AT LEAST a 4S pack. If the Cyclon motor isn't able to handle that, go for a different motor, perhaps a larger Cyclon.

Jeff85
09-08-2005, 11:28 AM
I did ask, still waiting (1 week). I already have the Motor. Next question is what ESC? I hear CC does not go well with this motor. Can't do 4 degree timing?

atlav8r
09-22-2005, 03:59 AM
I did ask, still waiting (1 week). I already have the Motor. Next question is what ESC? I hear CC does not go well with this motor. Can't do 4 degree timing?

Jef the English instructions are posted here http://www.atlantahobby.com/images2/Cyclon_instructions/cyclon_elite_18_en.pdf what is the confusion as I am not clear with your question. More cells more power ;-) Most of the Elite 18's we have been running (and the ones we have sold) are running on 4S packs. I do have a few running on 5 S and a few on 6S. As we post on our site you could run it on a big 3S pack but the performance is the best when you put the juce (volts) to it. The instructions have many sample prop suggestions based on cell count. You can aim for 55Amps cont and go higher up to 80 amps for short burst. Motocalc will not work with these motors.This pack http://www.atlantahobby.com/shopexd.asp?id=5175 is the one I like best with an 17-18 inch prop.
Hope this helps?

Jeff85
09-22-2005, 09:18 AM
I'm going with: TP6400-6S3PB 6400 mAh 22.2V
Thanks for the input, any idea when the Flash 120 ESC will be in?

atlav8r
09-22-2005, 03:35 PM
I am told He is shiping to me next week.
Cliff

GeraldRosebery
09-24-2005, 04:25 PM
The key element on a brushless motor is don't exceed the stated current rating in practice. You can (within reason) use any voltage you want (ESC allowing) recognizing the the RPM/Volt (KV) rating will give higher expected rpm for each cell added. You can get MotoCalc or the like , but, it can, in my experience, only be done practically by testing with various props. Buy a very wide selection of APC-E props (they are quite cheap really) and use them for testing the motor. Buy the pack you want to use and then prop up the motor and using a wattmeter determine current (DON"T OVERUN THE PACK OR MOTOR CURRENT WHILE DOING TESTING!). Get the motor until you get, say, 80% of max amps at peak and then go from there. You can adjust current draw by adjusting the motor loading, that is, by changing props. If this confusing write to me:

gerry1515@yahoo.com

Jeff85
09-27-2005, 07:04 AM
I did get my battery, still have configuration issues with it.
I did buy a watt meter, now I'm just waiting for the ESC Flash 120 with programming card. Right Cliff?:)

atlav8r
09-27-2005, 01:57 PM
yep, As you have seen from contacting EM diectly as soon as I see them from France I will let you know Jeff.

Jeff85
10-13-2005, 09:34 AM
Electric Model said their not even in production for the Flash 120 and don't know when they will be. :rolleyes:

I gave up on them and ordered the CC Phoenix 125 for my ESC.