PDA

View Full Version : Old Dog needs new tricks

rekitter
09-07-2005, 11:23 PM
Howdy. I go by the name rekitter. That is re-kit-ter as in I can take a beautiful, well made, perfectly balanced balsa and mylar airplane and taxi it and take off and a short time later it will auger in and become a whole new kit again!

My total time of RC flight give or take is about ten minutes. I have been building and building airplanes for many years, but I just can't seem to fly them. My flight kit consists of a broom and dustpan and a couple big bottles of five minute epoxy.

Now I have a teenage son that wants to learn to fly and we have been to a gym at his school and seen the Electrics a bit.

What we need is a plane that can do a full bore crash into a concrete wall and NOT need to go home and spend a couple weeks in rehab.

I will peruse the other posts and see what is out there, but bear in mind, I don't have a clue as yet to all the electric terminology and stuff. Been doing nitro powered planes and glides mostly. Some rubber powered, too.

Help is much appreciated! Thanks.

flypaper 2
09-08-2005, 12:45 AM
Why not get someone to teach you and your son to fly. Lot easier on the pocketbook

debhicks
09-08-2005, 02:37 AM
If you want electric check out gws, eflite, and others. The estarter is a good trainer airplane and the slowstick may be a good indoor/outdoor (no wind type) trainer. I like the soarstar. It is just a good airplane. It will teach you a lot. It is an outdoor flyer.

Foam is easy to repair for the most part with odorless CA and some foam safe kicker you can be in the air in less than 5 minutes after repair.

Foam by and large is just forgiving. Unless you run it 400 mph into the ground and shear off the already repaired motor mount and have to re-engineer another one. Check out Beaver thread.