PDA

View Full Version : Cox Spitfire

Taildrager
10-21-2006, 03:48 PM
After seeing the Cox Mustang & Corsair fly a couple weeks ago I just had to give one of these little warbrds a try. At $19.95 at my LHS with engine who can resist putting this little warbird together and giving it a go. I am brand new at E-flight and don't know heads from tails about it but have been building and flying for 6 years with glow goo & gas plankers. Here is a dry fit of my little Spitty. Any one who has one of these little birds I could sure use some help on what brands and where to buy the necessary batts, speed controlls, ect. I need to get this bird in the air, as I can hardly wait to shoot down a few Me109's & FW190's.

Sky Sharkster
10-21-2006, 04:41 PM
Hello Taildrager, Welcome to Wattflyer! There's been quite a bit done with the COX Micros, as well as the Estes Warbirds in the same size range. Here's a long thread from last year, I've linked to page 3 which is where the suggestions for motor upgrades, bateries, servos, etc., starts. http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1060&page=3
Generally, most folks are ditching the supplied electronics and putting in micro or sub micro gear. A few suggestions would be, for servos, Hitec HS 50's or 55's or other sub-5 gram brands like the Bluebirds. Receivers are usually in the 7 gram or less range, the new Berg Micro is one example, FMA Direct + Castle Creations have suitable RX's. For speed controllers, about 5 amps, light and LiPo "friendly".
Motors; I've seen these models fly with the stock motors and they fly pretty will but a small brushless will really perk things up! The two most popular brands I've seen used are the 12mm Fiego + Medusa Research's 12mm. These are "inrunners" with no gearbox (direct drive).
I don't have all the links handy but a search for Allerc, Sky Hooks and Rigging, Micro RC, will get you started! Here's a couple others;
http://www.medusaproducts.com/
http://www.lightflightrc.com/