PDA

View Full Version : Spacewalker Plans

Army Dad
10-28-2006, 10:12 PM
I have been looking for another plane to build and have decided on the Spacewalker Monoplane. I was going to order the plans from Sig and scale them down to suit my needs, but I've never used the Sig plans before. I am looking for feed back from anyone who has used Sig plans and what they thought of them. thanks Rick

Dereck
11-03-2006, 03:25 PM
Hi Rick
Just noticed your post. Have built a few Sigs - 4*40, Cubs at 1/5th and 1/6th, had a Smith Miniplane in the kit mountain for years (was offered money before I found the Rount Tuit!).

Their plans are always pretty much top of the line for the technology that created the kit. My 1/5th Cub - laser cut, CAD drawn, one of their latest kits - was probably the best kit I've built, more so for its sheer size.

The 1/6th version has a great plan - if you can work with a 1960s or 1970s standard of plan. It's accurately drawn, would have been the amongst the best when it was new - but it isn't all that new.

All of the Sig kits I've experienced had enough info on them that an experienced plans builder could recreate the model from scratch. You might have to 'design' a few formers and parts, but nothing too strenous. The 4*40, for example, is a simplistic model and could easily be built off the kit plan - the scale models are somewhat more complex, of course.

Not sure how old the Spacewalker is, hence how the plan was drawn, but some ingenuity should see you through. If you're downsizing (???), you'll have to put in a fair amount of plan work deciding on material sizes and so forth to suit your design aims anyway.

Hope that helps

Dereck

forresterace
11-03-2006, 09:38 PM
Army Dad