PDA

View Full Version : Downward spiral of death...

monkey77
09-16-2005, 01:54 PM
I just recently purchased and began flying a Thunder Tiger eHawk 1400. On the first flight I noticed that when I would go into a turn the plane had a tendancy to want to severly drop the wing tip on the inside of the turn and proceed to go into a spin pretty much straight down. Is this a characteristic of sailplanes (http://www.rcuniverse.com/buynow/keywordclick.cfm?bid_id=2608) in general or the eHawk? It has a V tail and ailerons. Do I need to do any mixing in the radio for the v tail? I'm completely new to the v tail setup and it has been about 10 years since I flew any kind of sailplane. Any input would be great.

Thanks
- Dan

Epoxycup
09-16-2005, 04:38 PM
Dan

The cause of the what you describe could be caused from several differant things. Probably not a fault of your particular glider design though.
So with that in mind I will list sevral I can think of for you to check. Set up is everything.;)

Warped wing - It is possible you recieved a warped wing, it does happen. Simply sight down the LE of your wing and look for twist. Dont worry about the tip sections (outer 8" or so) I will talk about that next.

Washout - Most thermal or mild type gliders and other aircraft will have some washout in the tip section of the wing. Put the wing on something eye level, walk about 10' away and look at the tip relation to the LE. The tips should be flexed slightly down (called washout) this helps the glider at slower speeds and in turns. If you have one tip going up (wash in) and one going down that is bad. Generally it can be fixed by flexing the tip down and heating the monokote then holding it until it cools down.

Balance - I will assume you CG is set according to your instructions, if not and you are tail heavey it will make your aircraft very unstable, recheck this and move things or add lead as required.