PDA

View Full Version : Help Please

Scratch
09-16-2005, 06:56 PM
I'm fairly new to electric rc and have lots to learn. The forums have been great, but I just need a little help in selecting the appropriate power system.

I have a 36" wingspan profile/3d (scratch built) type plane. Airframe weight is approx 25oz. Radio gear add another 5oz, so ready to add power and battery/esc weight of around 30oz let's say.

I'm looking at the Axi 2820/12 with 40a Jeti and TP2100 3 cell lipo. I figure that set up would weigh approx 12oz for an AUW of 42 oz.

Is that set up enough? Is it overkill? What prop you think? (I'm looking for 3d performance.)

Thanks a ton.

Scratch
09-19-2005, 02:17 AM
Ideas.... anyone.....???

Dr Kiwi
09-19-2005, 03:53 AM
I'm fairly new to electric rc and have lots to learn. The forums have been great, but I just need a little help in selecting the appropriate power system.

I have a 36" wingspan profile/3d (scratch built) type plane. Airframe weight is approx 25oz. Radio gear add another 5oz, so ready to add power and battery/esc weight of around 30oz let's say.

I'm looking at the Axi 2820/12 with 40a Jeti and TP2100 3 cell lipo. I figure that set up would weigh approx 12oz for an AUW of 42 oz.

Is that set up enough? Is it overkill? What prop you think? (I'm looking for 3d performance.)

Thanks a ton.

3D performance from a 42oz plane with only 36" span - whoa! That's a brick.

How did the bare airframe get to 25oz - for 36" span, 3D capable, I'd have been looking for an AUW [everything! airframe, servos, Rx, motor, batteries] of less than that.

Scratch
09-19-2005, 04:36 AM
Yeah, it's a brick, I know. This was my attempt to scratch build a 3D profile, which turned out heavier than I wanted. I tend to over-build stuff. Maybe I should just buy an ARF that has a million pages in a thread on motor set up. Thanks for your help. I now see the light.

Matt Kirsch
09-19-2005, 04:46 PM