PDA

View Full Version : what does KV mean?

nova801428
09-19-2005, 05:53 AM
I am new to brushless. I am buying a pocket combat wing from aller.com and I am going to put a Feigao brushless motor on it. but which one do I choose 4100KV 5300KV OR 5800KV, please help me I am new?

timocharis
09-19-2005, 07:08 AM
nova,

kV, KV, or Kv depending on the typist means rpm/volt. So if you have a 4100 kV motor and a 2-cell LiPo (which will generally deliver just a bit under 7 volts at load) the motor will turn about 28000 rpm max. This is one of three figures you can use to calculate the characteristics of a motor, but in more general terms you can get an fair idea using kV alone.

For example, at about 1000 kV you'll generally be talking about an outrunner than can turn a fairly large prop direct drive (say, 10x4.7 or so). Your examples for the Feigao indicate a motor that would generally be geared or use a very small prop.

Getting past theory and into your specific question, the 4100 is probably the right choice. You can run it 2s with a GWS 3030 prop direct drive, or 3s with a 3020. The 3s setup will be thrustier and a bit faster. You might like one or the other better.

You could also run one of the faster motors 2s with a 3020, but that's a load and the result might be fried wire.

Why the k in kV? I don't know!

Dave North

olmod
09-19-2005, 08:28 AM
The higher the KV the smaller the prop as a general rule of thumb
and the K represents rpm's to find the KV of a motor you need to run it at no load and tacho it using a piece of tape or similar on the drum or something attached to the shaft and running the motor flat out, then you divide the rpm you got by the voltage = KV :)

Dr Kiwi
09-19-2005, 10:46 PM
I am new to brushless. I am buying a pocket combat wing from aller.com and I am going to put a Feigao brushless motor on it. but which one do I choose 4100KV 5300KV OR 5800KV, please help me I am new?