PDA

View Full Version : Weathering, Wear + Tear

Sky Sharkster
09-24-2005, 01:26 PM
First off, I must admit that I'm no scale expert: I've built and flown model planes (mostly balsa) on and off for years, all types, including a few sport/scale models. While finishing up a GWS "Zero" recently (for Electric Combat, most of the club members have "Corsairs" and "Mustangs") I decided to "weather" the plane. I've seen several threads and mag articles on the subject but wanted to stay away from anything heavy or too time-consuming-it IS a Combat plane, after all. My local Hobby Shop owner (Jerry Thompson, Thompson's Hobbies, Lakewood, Colorado), gave me a great tip and I wanted to pass it along.
After sanding and filling with light spackle I painted the "Zero" light gray (Rust-oleum "Painter's Touch" # 1982 Winter Grey) and drew panel lines with a black fine-tip marker using "Squadron/Signal Pub. # 1059 A6M Zero in Action" as a guide. A flexible ruler was used, I made this from the outside edge of plastic lettering stencils, it's about the same thickness and stiffness as the material used for soda 6-pack "handles". The plastic strip was wrapped around the fuselage (for example), lined up vertically, then the pen followed one side of the strip. It's flexible enough to go around wing fillets, airfoils, reverse contours, etc.