PDA

View Full Version : Props

sedonakevin
09-25-2005, 03:47 PM
Hi all, I'm new to RC and Electric fight in general after 30 years of building scale static models. I'm currently building a Turnkey RC Fiesler Fi-156 Storch with Speed 480, 30 amp ESC, and 7.4 V 2100 Mah Li-poly. My questions concern props:

1. Why do most electric plans fly plastic/nylon props rather than wood?
2. Why are most props only two blade when the actaul airplane might have had a three or four blade prop?
3. If the motor is geared properly is there any reason an electric motor cannot spin a wooden prop?

OK, OK I guess I'm one of those 'rivet counters' but I really would like to build my models as scale like and realistic as possible. In other words if the full-size plane used a 3 blade prop then i would like my model to fly with a 3 blade prop.

Anyway, any help is apprecieated, Kevin

Dr Kiwi
09-25-2005, 05:51 PM
Hi all, I'm new to RC and Electric fight in general after 30 years of building scale static models. I'm currently building a Turnkey RC Fiesler Fi-156 Storch with Speed 480, 30 amp ESC, and 7.4 V 2100 Mah Li-poly. My questions concern props:

1. Why do most electric plans fly plastic/nylon props rather than wood?
2. Why are most props only two blade when the actaul airplane might have had a three or four blade prop?
3. If the motor is geared properly is there any reason an electric motor cannot spin a wooden prop?

OK, OK I guess I'm one of those 'rivet counters' but I really would like to build my models as scale like and realistic as possible. In other words if the full-size plane used a 3 blade prop then i would like my model to fly with a 3 blade prop.

Anyway, any help is apprecieated, Kevin

My thoughts - not necessarily correct