PDA

View Full Version : Trex 450S CF w/ DX6 or DX7?

Mike_117
01-16-2007, 03:02 PM
Will the DX6 be a good Tx for the 450?

Does it make a huge difference in controllable flight versus the DX7?

Also, I liked the features and look of the 450S with CF over the 450XL I was about to buy.. both are eCCPM.... any thoughts.

I'm a newb to Trex, just played with the Blades.. (which is why I like the spektrum)

Thanks,

Mike

PilotDane
01-16-2007, 05:53 PM
Yes, the DX6 will fly the 450, tons of people are doing it. The manual for the 450SA is even written for the DX6.

A couple months ago I was having to make the same choice you are going through and I ended up getting the DX7. I had several people say that the DX6 worked great but they traded up as they became better pilots and wanted more control over their pitch and throttle curves. Now that I've had the DX7 for a couple months I really like it and all of it's adjustments. The programming in the radio (exponential, rate, travel limit, 5 point curves) allow you to tone down the TRex to make it easier to learn the basics.

I don't think you can go wrong with either radio but if you have the money I would go for the DX7. Some stores will remove the servos that come packaged with the DX7 (they are too big for the TRex) and lower the price.

Mike_117
01-16-2007, 09:22 PM
I'm going to stick with the DX6 for now.. The DX7 is $150 more and then you have to buy servos.. and good ones seem to total up to about another $150.. so I'll save the extra $300 for now and just learn this thing.. Maybe I'll update later when the DX7 comes out without the servos for a lower price...:)

KRAKERJAK
01-17-2007, 12:18 AM
PILOTDANE
Hi