PDA

View Full Version : Qs about my brushless

virtual
02-12-2007, 08:27 AM
Hi. I'm fairly new to the RC world. i'm wondering...i've recently put together a super sportster mini...i got a new motor, a brushless outrunner of 1250 KV. and a 8x9 prop to go with it..when running the 8x9 prop, the motor didnt get get hot at all, only a little bit warm. but i tryed the prop that came with it. it was quite alot bigger and after running the motor with it, just testing not flying, the motor got very hot almost burning my fingers, running at about half throttle witha few bursts to full. My question is, is it bad for the motor to get very hot, or is it ok ? wats the normal running temp for a motor.

k-vette
02-13-2007, 06:40 AM
The motor should not get hot, especially if it's an outrunner and you're touching the outside. If you have a way to measure the temp it should be done on the wire inside of the motor. The best way to know if you're overloading the motor is to measure the current. If you state the exact model of the motor and the battery you're using some guys on here might be able to tell you the ideal prop setup.;)

virtual
02-13-2007, 07:49 AM
Well, its an ST model 1250kv outrunner...so it shudnt get hot at all ? is warm ok ?

thanks for your reply

rea59
02-13-2007, 02:22 PM
Well, its an ST model 1250kv outrunner...so it shudnt get hot at all ? is warm ok ?

thanks for your reply

I would need more info on the motor to determine the exact problem. (IE: windings, etc)

Does the ST stand for Storm motors? If so these would be the details.

Storm 35-42-1250KV Brushless Outrunner Motor. High Performance motor for 21 to 67 ounce aircraft. Weight 4.47 ounces. For 3s 11.1v LiPo or 4s 14.8 Lipo shaft size 4mm, dimensions 35x42mm, RPM per volt 1250, recommended props 11 x 8 for 10 cells or 3s Lipo, 10 x 4.7 4s Lipo 45 amp or higher brushless ESC. Over 540 Watts.

ScubaSteve
02-13-2007, 08:30 PM
Is that your motor? How big is the prop that came with it?

virtual