PDA

View Full Version : can I shorten the wires to the 401 gyro


johnnycat500
02-24-2007, 01:11 AM
will the 401 still work right if I shorten the wires

PilotDane
02-27-2007, 02:48 AM
It probably will, but why would you? It is so easy to tie the extra wire up into a tiny bundle with a small wire tie.

leapfrog
03-15-2007, 08:14 AM
Sure... but I would recommend clipping the leads and crimping on new connectors - not cutting the wires and trying to solder them in the middle somewhere. I've done it on my Hoss x4 (http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=563213&page=42&highlight=hoss+x4) and on my HDX450SE (http://www.helifreak.com/album_showpage.php?pic_id=17464)... because it was the best solution... for my Trex 450SE and 450SAs... I did as PD suggests, and just created take-up loops and used heat shrink to tidy them up. It depends on the bird... and on the mounting location of the GY401.