PDA

View Full Version : My New Experiance with RC

Joe Highflyer
10-12-2005, 10:04 PM
Let me tell you about my experience of starting to learn to be a model airplane pilot. First off I am an ex-commercial pilot with over 4,500 hours of flying time. I lost my pilot license because of loosing my medical, triple by-pass, 15 years ago. I felt I had enough experience to fly a model aircraft and would have no problem

I bought my first model airplane, a Park Flyer Cessna 182. After receiving the beautiful airplane I was smart enough to realize I needed a trainer before flying the Cessna 182. I bought a commander 2 and on the first flight I sent it up high into the sky. It went into the sun and at that high altitude the wind was blowing quite strong. I lost sight of the Commander and when you lose sight you have no control. The last time I saw it was going west bound with the wind. Lesson number one, put your name and phone number on the aircraft.

I bought anothe Commander. I did learn some things on the first experience. Keep the aircrat close and always in sight. Well on the second launch the Commander came down and landed hard. Broke a wing so bought anothe wing. Continued to make some rough landings. The prop made some deep cuts in the wing.

Bought a Skyseeker from readytoflyfun.com. This one comes with an extra wing, tail section, two props and it's three channel. I am continuing to make rough landings, but I can see some improvement.

By now I have the following planes on my pool table, Cessna 182, Super Decathlon and a Corsair F4U all waiting for me to get proficient enough to fly them. I will continue to practice flight with the Skyseeker until that time comes to safely fly the others.

Your Humble Commercial Pilot
Joe High Flyer

flyranger
10-13-2005, 12:02 AM