PDA

View Full Version : esc for 400 brushed stock motor


N3CLI
10-14-2005, 02:48 PM
I have a 400 speed powered motor in a glider and have a new Pixie-7p that I would like to use as the esc. It is a Multiplex Easystar using the stock motor that comes with it. Is the 7p enough and can I get away with it for easy flying. The speed 400 is a brushed motor of course.

Comments appreciated.

Fred:) AMA68196

falingtrea
10-14-2005, 04:51 PM
I think the Permax 400-6V has a max current draw of 8 amps and a current at max efficiency of 3.5 amps. So the 7amp Pixie should work as long as you fuse the motor.

http://www.multiplexusa.com/motors/Brushed%20Motor/400.htm

But running some numbers through the motor calc app they have at the Multiplex-USA website, you could get over 7 amps depending on the voltage and prop you use.

http://brantuas.com/ezcalc/multiplexcalc.asp

N3CLI
10-14-2005, 05:25 PM
I will be using a 2S1P Lipo 900 mAh pack to power it and the standard prop that is supplied with the kit to start. Thanks for your info. I had the Pixie-7p laying around new and wanted to use it.
What size fuse do you suggest? About 8 Amp in line.

Thanks again

Fred:) AMA68196

falingtrea
10-15-2005, 06:18 AM
Yeah that would be good. The pixie 7 is rated for 7 amps constant I believe.

N3CLI
10-15-2005, 07:08 AM
That is correct.

It just makes it.

Thanks again

Fred:)

RiverPlane
11-05-2005, 04:55 PM
I'll use the FMA DIRECT 20A with 2S1P 2200 Mah Lipo for the Easy Glider with stock motor ¿what do you think on that?

mmmh I think It's gonna fry...

Barfing Pumpkin
11-05-2005, 07:40 PM
In the past, I have had good luck with CC's Pixie 20. They used to produce a Pixie 14, would be ideal for Speed 400 applicatons. Pixie 20 is same size as former Pixie 20, very small, works well with brushed motors running higher amps. No weight penalty. Speed 300 motors, geared, can still pull 11 amps. Speed 400's can also pull some amperage, depending on load.

Barf