PDA

View Full Version : New to AP

meegosh
10-15-2005, 10:01 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm new to flight and I am getting my first plane, a dual motor Slow Stick. It has two EPSD-350C-D motors, gws 1365 prop, gws compact 400 66t D gear, CASTLE CREATIONS PIXIE 20P esc, and a 7.4 VOLT 1200 MAH Lipo pack.

Commander_Duke said: "I use a micro servo like the HS-55 with the arm cut down a bit and double sided servo tape to attach the servo right to the camera near the trigger button. I hook the servo lead to one of the unused channels in my receiver (landing gear, flaps etc.) then adjust the throws to work properly and up I go."

It has a GWS NARO RECEIVER 6 CHANNEL reciever and a 4channel futaba tx. Could I use the method above to push the button on the camera with my reciever/tx? I am interested in taking some aerial photos once I learn to fly a little better. Any suggestions on good cameras that take decent pics but are under say $70? No 3.5 mp cameras just simple pen camera or something similar.

I guess I just really need some advice on getting started, cheaply. :rolleyes:

TaSaJaRa
11-08-2005, 03:44 PM
Just getting started, Learn to fly abit, don't rush.If you crash a lot you will get where you don't like to fly.
But remember a SlowStick with a stock wing does get blowed around a bit in wind. So it is best to fly early
morrning or late evening (just when it is calm) till you get the hang of it.
Also use a buddy box the first few times to help get you going in the right direction.

As far as a camera goes you can use a Blip camera (http://www.blip.com.au/) And you can just plug it right into the RX.
A little more than $70 but it works real well.

I have used a camera like the Blip that I wired to operate the shutter with a RC-Cam Man switch.

Below is the camera I used when I started and a few pics I have taken with it.

meegosh
11-10-2005, 04:58 PM