PDA

View Full Version : Any way to straighten a bent prop shaft?

cbusse1
04-21-2007, 06:27 AM
I converted my new 30 year old Honker to electric and on the second rather rough landing the prop shaft got bent. I tried to straighten it by hand and it helped a little but it is still not right and the vibration is pretty bad. It is just a small outrunner motor with a threaded shaft.
Are the shafts easily replaceable? I would rather try to replace the shaft instead of the entire motor. I'm rather new to electric flight so I don't know much about motor construction. Please help.

max2112
04-21-2007, 09:20 AM
cbusse1,
The only luck I've ever had was using a bench vise. Maybe it was a stroke of luck because I've tried this several times and only one attempt came out straight. The other two looked straight but still had a bad vibration.

Just clamp on the shaft with some needle nose VGs and insert it into the vise jaws lengthwise. Tighten the vise as much as you can. Rotate the prop shaft 180. Repeat. keep rotating in small increments and squeezing with the vise. If you get it close it'll roll flat on your workbench with no wobbles.
This can damage threads if you're not careful.

Good luck.

flydiver
04-21-2007, 05:50 PM
Depends-I think a lot of motors you can get the shaft out. If it has a single bend it may be fixable. It it has an 'S' bend (roll it on a flat surface and look underneath), just give up. Some motors have replacement shafts. What kind is it?

Now, the next takes special tools. I have a large drill press and a thing called a dial indicator. I chuck the shaft in the press so the bent part is sticking out and the straight part is up inside. The dial runs on the shaft and measures movement in thousands of an inch. Spin it by hand, find the high/low spot, and start slowly bending it back toward the "middle" so the shaft run is true.

If you don't already have these tools you probably won't want the expense of buying them.