PDA

View Full Version : Guillows Kits

canamrichard
10-18-2005, 07:05 PM
Just acquired a P-38 Guillows kit originally designed for rubberband power. Has a 40 inch wing span. Can I convert to R/C and what suggestions, if any, does anyone have for motors, etc? Should make a great stand off scale model and would like to know if it will be flyable or not.

WWI Ace
10-19-2005, 02:20 AM
I've heard of guys converting these planes but it takes alot of careful planning. They say you can leave some of the wood out of these kits to make them lighter.

canamrichard
10-19-2005, 03:11 AM
Thanks Ace! I have some experience making kits lighter for electric. Framing out places like wing tips instead of balsa blocks etc. Some ply formers can be converted to balsa etc. I built the Tiger Moth you see by my ID from a Pilot kit and came out electric, fully loaded for flight with bats, motor etc. at the recommended flying weight.

E-Challenged
10-25-2005, 02:20 AM
There are lots of E-Zone threads on Guillows conversions when you are ready. The P-38 one of the more challenging ones to convert. It can be done but it will be a lot of head scratching, tedious work, and will come out heavy, be hard to trim out and will be lucky to get through trim flights without crashing and rebuilding. Not quite enough wing area for the weight to be carried. Will need enough power to fly fast and land fast. If you are new to converting Guillows kits and want to build something with sticks, first try a Mountain Models Cessna 180 or a Dumas Cessna L-19 Bird Dog to get some experience with probability of success. They are larger, lighter and easier to get flying well. Then try converting Guillows kits.

canamrichard
10-25-2005, 03:28 AM
Thanks for the info (encouragement?). It would not be the first time I spent a lot of effort to build a poor flying plane although my flying skills can also be suspect. Do you have any suggestions regarding motors for this kit?

E-Challenged
10-25-2005, 04:37 AM