PDA

View Full Version : Great Basic Information for Newbies

Mike Freas
10-19-2005, 12:53 AM
I'm not new to RC by any means just to e-flight. I have a Senior Telemaster on the boards and I really want to use an e-power system. I have been to my LHS that specializes in e-flight. Although I completely trust their suggestion on what I need I want to learn more. I know most people say that 100 watts per pound is a good place to start but I get confused with motor numbers. For instance, AXI-4120-18 is what Hobby Lobby suggests for the Tele. What is the difference between the -18 and the -16 and how do I compare the AXI line with other company’s motor designations? Should I use the KV rating and how is it rating figured?

AEAJR
10-19-2005, 06:32 AM
100 watts per pound is a good number for a high performance plane and 100 watts per pound will probably take the plane straight up if you are using a brushless motor.

The numeric designations on brushless motors are not standardized at all. Good luck and if you find a good comparison chart, let us know. :)

Smeghead
10-19-2005, 12:31 PM
O good its not just me who is confused by all the silly numbers they stick on these motors.

debhicks
10-19-2005, 07:02 PM
Nope, however if you come up with something I am sure the information would be worth something. You would probably be able to market it right here. :)

Mike Freas
10-19-2005, 07:21 PM
You mean 100 watts for good flying and 150 for vertical performance right? My last question still stands about the KV rating. I guess that is the only way to compare motors is the KV rating. Can anyone breakdown the AXI numbers for me? What is the difference in the -18 and -16?

frvrngn
10-19-2005, 08:12 PM