PDA

View Full Version : how many batteries?

dus10lee
08-03-2005, 03:21 AM
Ok, I know you a reciever, battery for reciever, ESC, motor, mini/micro servos, extension cable, ect inside of the plane. But besides the battery for the reciever is there another battery required inside the plane? I am new to electric and trying to understand everything that goes inside of an electric plane. I am trying to make a list of parts to purchase, but am not quite sure if I have everything. So far I have decided on 3 GWS naro servos, GWS estarter plane w/400 motor, Greatplanes ESC, Futaba 9" servo extension. I already have the transmitter and a futaba reciever. What else am I missing? Also, any better suggestions on servos, ESC, plane, ect let me know. One last thing...is there an electric plane that can use regular size servos?

Reformed Nitroaddict
08-03-2005, 01:25 PM
dus10 - Welcome to Wattflyer!

To answe your questions - Unlike a gas plane, where you need a seperate battery to power the receiver and servos, an electric plane uses a circuit in the ESC to step down the voltage of the main battery to power both the motor and the electronics. So, no, only one battery needed.

If purchasing a GWS E-Starter, then the equipment you would need beyond the plane, TX and RX that you already have, would be:

3 micro servos, the GWS ones you listed will work fine, and are very cheap. An ESC, if going with the 350motor, get a 10A ESC minimum, if the 400 motor, a 15A minimum. And of course you will need a battery and charger. I would recommend getting a minimum of two batteries to start, but you would be happier with three.