PDA

View Full Version : Do counter-rotating blades give more lift?

phupper
05-05-2007, 04:04 AM
The guy at the hobby store told me that electric heli's like the Blade CP did not have enough lift to carry a wireless camera. I'm just a noob, but I'm pretty sure he's wrong. I saw a Dragon RC that comes with a camera pre-installed.

He also said that the dual bladed counter-rotating models provide less lift than a comperable single bladed model. Variable pitch on the single could make him right on this one.

But tell me guys, am I going to have trouble lifting a wireless 2.4GH Eyecam with any of these size models?

Thanks!

Brutal E
05-05-2007, 11:15 PM
If you tie your camera into the lipo then you have no problems with weight if you have to add a battery then the CX2 is going to have problems. The CP Pro will be sluggish. Go brushless and the CP Pro can lift a good amount. Stock CP is going to be too little lift me thinks. Without extra battery will probably still struggle.

Spencer J
05-06-2007, 08:24 AM
Regular 9v batteries probally won't work on the cam, even with brushless....

phupper
05-06-2007, 07:37 PM
Well, the weight of the camera and transmitter is 9 grams (when it arrives in the mail). So I taped a small Bic lighter (11 grams) and a standard 9v battery (46 grams) to the underside of my CX2. To my amazement it lifted right off! It's sluggish and uses about 75% of the throttle to hover, but it's very flyable. I kept flight times to under 30 seconds because I don't have heat sinks yet. If I use LiPo instead of the 9v batt I may be able to lighten the load even more.
I'm surprized these models don't have a max-load rating like real helicopters.

vortex05
07-03-2007, 02:30 AM
I've measured the blade CP it seems to lift good up to 100g it does become sluggish at that point. This is stock with a lipo and 9T motor.

it might lift more than 100g but I'd be careful at that point.