PDA

View Full Version : Easystar Seaplane

LAbelle44
05-07-2007, 09:34 PM
Anyone seen or heard of somebody making a Easystar Seaplane? I am new to flying but looking at my Easystar hanging on the wall I thought"Gee, change to a "T" tail, maybe add some sponsons on the sides of the fuse(like a C130 kinda) and maybe some floats halfway out on the wing. Looking to land on water as I can always hand launch. Then again some airlerons and a brushless upgrade might get it to take off assuming I could figure out how and where to build a step.Any reality in this idea?

bugjam1999
05-15-2007, 03:13 PM
i put GWS floats on mine... needed a bit more power really, it'd only take off about three times on a full nicad pack...

see the photo here : http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11798

seaplane idea sounds like a laugh, but you'd have to remount the servos to keep them safe and make sure the hull was waterproof somehow...

good luck!

Bill G
05-16-2007, 07:52 AM
i put GWS floats on mine... needed a bit more power really, it'd only take off about three times on a full nicad pack...

see the photo here : http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11798

seaplane idea sounds like a laugh, but you'd have to remount the servos to keep them safe and make sure the hull was waterproof somehow...

good luck!
Looks better with the floats than without them.

bugjam1999
05-31-2007, 01:49 PM
idlely thinking about this the other day, i think the easiest way to convert an easystar to be a seaplane would be to buy a set of GWS floats and mount one to the bottom of the fuselage. Then add a pontoon on each wing and you're away... the addition of the float under the fuselage would mean that the electrics would be less likely to get wet and the tail would be out of the water, which wouldn't happen if you tried to have the fuselage bottom in the water.

if you think about the mountings enough before you add them to the plane, you should be able to make them totally removable...