PDA

View Full Version : One Eyed, One Winged, Flying Purple-Power Photo Taker

buzzbomber
10-23-2005, 06:42 AM
Okay, so the the thread title's a bit of a stretch, but at least I got your attention.;)

I've been interested in performing aerial photography with my r/c planes for quite some time--almost every time I go up in a full-scale plane, I make sure to have a camera with me--but, until now I haven't acted on my wishes of doing the same with r/c. Well, here in the Northeast, we had EIGHT straight days of rain last week, and obviously, I didn't do any flying during that time.

Instead, I contracted a severe case of cabin fever, and consequently decided to rectify the fact that I still hadn't gotten around to trying R/C AP. a few paint stirrer sticks, an old Mini Telemaster, a Hacker A20-20L, and a Nikon Coolpix 3200 later, and I'm a bonafide aerial photographer--at least in my mind. Unfortunately, I've only had one opportunity to fly the camera rig so far, and that being less than ten minutes prior to sunset, the pictures resulting weren't exactly prizewinners. However, a few were at least legible, and I submit them for your edification:

eflight-ray
10-23-2005, 01:23 PM
Well done buzzbomber, like the look of your camera rig, though perhaps a little exposed. I made the mistake of mounting a camera looking straight down, I was surprised just how high you had to fly to get a decent picture. I also found out that trying to bank and then take a picture, can give some very blurred shots.
The only other snag I found, was once I had photographed the flying site rather a lot of time, it became rather boring. At least with a side facing camera you can also do some low and close shots.

buzzbomber
10-23-2005, 05:41 PM
Thanks for the kind words.

I have to admit, I'm not crazy about having the camera that exposed, but I figured best to give it a go and see how it shakes out before building a dedicated platform or hacking this one up to enclose the camera further.