PDA

View Full Version : S-39

sikorsky
10-24-2005, 10:39 PM
After contact with an austrian waterflyer, he did a 3m-span Emily with 4 Speed 400-motors, I decided to go a new way.
Having flown, and crashed, some electric driven modelplanes in the last 30 years, esspecially parkflyers, I now want to do a waterplane.
Cause I am a professional yachtmodelbuilder, I love waterplanes also.
My new project will be a Sikorsky S-39.
The model should be built from Depron/Foam and carbon.
Span should be about 1400mm and the plane will be powered by a brushless motor (90 Watt), that I get a motorglider with some more power to start from water.
Base for my model is an old plan for a freeflight S-39, designed (?) by S.Calhoun Smith and Dick Ealy.
Have someone here experiences with such a concept?;)

flicka5
10-25-2005, 02:41 AM
A S39 has been modeled in electric with a fiberglass fuselage. A kit is avilable in the US. Image attached.

sikorsky
10-25-2005, 11:32 AM
@flicka5

thank you for this pic.
Do you have a link to the manufacturer?

flicka5
10-25-2005, 01:46 PM
@flicka5

thank you for this pic.
Do you have a link to the manufacturer?

Yep, the link is easily found by typing Sikorsky S39 into google as it comes up as the second link.
http://www.classicaero.com/main.php
A little expensive but I have seen the owner's work in person and his airplanes and they are worth it! My mistake as a poor memory said a fiberglass fuse but really a vacuum formed plastic fuselage.

sikorsky
10-25-2005, 08:37 PM
Thank you for the link!!!
I tried to google, but didn't find this link. Maybe the american google works not the same way than the german.

Vyceroy
10-26-2005, 06:12 AM
I have had the priviledge of meeting the owner (Allen i think) My Memory is terrible .. Met him at Toledo and SEFF this year . a great product from a great guy .. i have been drooling over his planes for 2 years ..