PDA

View Full Version : Inrunner motor from a scanner


Aratz H.
06-22-2007, 09:11 AM
Hi!
The other day I found that my old scanner had a big motor that seemed to be brushless, I have take it and I am wiling if it is posible to convert it an use it on a RC plane.
I post some pictures since the engine is quite extrange
http://img225.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img0141mv8.jpg
http://img161.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img0139ht6.jpg

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/4218/img0140pd7.jpg</pre>


I can post more pictures if you need.
Thanks in advance!

chaz345
06-22-2007, 02:45 PM
While that motor is technically brushless, it is what is called a stepper motor. When it is moving it is actually starting and stopping after a very precise distance, many times a second. That way the scanner can "know" exactly where the head is. I would imagine that the controller is what is causing the starting and stopping so you could hook it up to an ESC that you don't care too much about and see what happens but don't get too upset if something fries.

worldraft
06-28-2007, 04:11 AM
Wow :red:I can hardly wait to here more about this, and can you give a pic with a ruler beside so we can have an Ideal of the dimensions.

kf2qd
07-25-2007, 06:56 PM
A stepper motor is a relatively slow speed motor used for positioning things like printer heads and scanner heads in low & mid priced consumer items. They are nice for low speed and moderate torque. It won't do much as a brushless motor because there are either 2 or 4 windings that allow it to "step" through the positions - there are as many as 200 steps per revolution.

MrElusive
08-14-2007, 07:17 AM
yes that apears to sure be a stepmotor. but if you crack it open , iam not sure but there might be a way to replace the magnets and add your own kind of stator/ windings. I know how to wind brushless and brushed. I will have to crack open a scanner and see what motors i can convert. Ive found motors out of other everyday things are already rc brushless compatable. very cool you cracked one open and got the idea of the motor usage. there is many other parts in those scanners that i keep and use myself like that nice 12 dc to dc swiching Hi KV powersupply. it will power that mini flrorecent light on 12v. they make great dome lites in your pickup or even ground effects. hell ive placed the tubes before on a cb attenna with a booster so that it would lite up when ever youd transmit. (looked cool when youw ere movin down the road. lol)

CHELLIE
08-14-2007, 08:48 AM
Hi!
The other day I found that my old scanner had a big motor that seemed to be brushless, I have take it and I am wiling if it is posible to convert it an use it on a RC plane.
I post some pictures since the engine is quite extrange
http://img225.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img0141mv8.jpg
http://img161.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img0139ht6.jpg


http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/4218/img0140pd7.jpg


</PRE>


I can post more pictures if you need.
Thanks in advance!

Hi Aratz :) Here are some nice Towerpro motors, esc and prop combos, starting at $14.49 for all 3, at that price, its not worth trying to convert a cd motor, stepper motor to use on a plane, unless its just something that you would like to tinker with, take care, Chellie

https://www.unitedhobbies.com/UNITEDHOBBIES/store/uh_listCategoriesAndProducts.asp?idCategory=179&ParentCat=192

ron_van_sommeren
08-14-2007, 02:08 PM
How many statorpoles? It has to be a multiple of three (3, 6, 9, ...24, ...) to run with RC ESC's.

Excellent motor building articles by Brian Mulder, a must read, will prevent you from asking a lot of questions you even did not know you were going to ask ;) ;)
http://www.southernsoaringclub.org.za/
-> Articles by SouthEasterners.
-> Electric Motors - part 1-5

Inrunners our outrunners are the same as winding diagrams are concerned. Do-it-yourself motor homepages, manuals/tutorials, checks and tests in this motor builders tips and tricks thread. The checks and tests may save you from frying your controller or motor. Thread is active, bookmark it for future reference and subscribe to it:
Two instructive motor winding/assembly videos, 14 & 10Mbyte respectively.
http://www.utahflyers.org/
-> Motor Winding #1 & #2


Vriendelijke groeten ;) Ron
• diy motor building tips & tricks (http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=240993)
• diy brushless motor discussion group (http://www.yahoogroups.com/group/lrk-torquemax)
• Drive Calculator (http://www.yahoogroups.com/group/D-calc/) download & discussion group

Gohmer
09-13-2007, 04:28 PM
Hi Aratz :) Here are some nice Towerpro motors, esc and prop combos, starting at $14.49 for all 3, at that price, its not worth trying to convert a cd motor, stepper motor to use on a plane, unless its just something that you would like to tinker with, take care, Chellie

https://www.unitedhobbies.com/UNITEDHOBBIES/store/uh_listCategoriesAndProducts.asp?idCategory=179&ParentCat=192

I see this same advice quite often. Read here that one guy buys three of them so he might get one that works. My advice is to buy a quality motor designed for model aircraft use. AXI’s work very well for me.

Spencer J
09-15-2007, 08:22 PM
BL motors now today are reletively low cost, compared to what they used to be. What you pictured is more of a servo than a motor.

MrElusive
09-15-2007, 08:47 PM
the stepper motors from scanners only have 2 phases and are wound like a fishing spools. at least thats what i found from rippin a few apart. there is no way to wind them as a 3 phase hobby mottor or i would have by now. hehe

how ever some holder large cd-rom rom motors are rewindable but most ive found have only had enough room for a lower voltage amount of windings. they would get very hot from a 3S pack. maybe better for 2S?

proffcharlie
10-17-2007, 11:17 AM
The Stepper Motor pictured above, as noted by others, is not intended to be turning at high speed for long durations. Each of those little triangle metal plates is a pole and the armature usually has a serrated surface that allows actually more the 255 positions to be "combined" to place the print head and paper sheet in position for printing. If you look at the connector going into the motor there are from 4 to sometimes as many as 9 leads that attach to the control module. If you noticed, the clear plastic ribbon that was connected to the print head has closely spaced vertical lines that are used as a feed back to the controller to tell it the actual position of the head. I doubt you would ever get any kind of speed or torque out of the motor and it weighs enough to be a boat anchor.

Charlie