PDA

View Full Version : Mosquito warbird in desperate need of electrification

g-mosie
06-27-2007, 01:32 PM
I would really appreciate some assistance with my next project. I have been fortunate to acquire a completed airframe for a DH Mosquito, unsure of it's true pedigree, though it appears to have a lot in common with the Brian Taylor 83" model. The build quality really has to be seen to be appreciated, alas something I cannot reproduce. Looking at the model it is screaming out to be electrified. The prospect of running a twin IC fills me with dread and fear. This is the reason for my plea for assistance. I'm a complete rookie with regards to electrification and the more I research the more I'm confused.

Here are the details of the model

Similar to Brian Taylor design which is quoted for 40 - 70 4 Stroke IC
Wingspan = 83"
Wing area = 996 sq in
Target Wing Loading < 30oz/sq ft
Target weight not greater than 207oz
Current airframe weight including servos and radio gear 156oz

I want the model to fly realistically, which I appreciate will be at some speed, but not resemble a jet fighter dressed in world war II clothes

I just don't know where to start in terms of deciding what I need.??

What type of motors
What size of motors
To gear or not to gear
Batteries seem a no brainer Lipo I presume
Do I run the radio off the same batteries as the engines or do I run a separate flight pack
Should I take any special precautions with regard to interference

I would very much appreciate any assistance anyone can offer in solving this problem.

Johnr
06-27-2007, 02:47 PM