PDA

View Full Version : HOB FW190 Conversion

Mike Parsons
07-19-2005, 09:18 PM
Hey, I gave RonKay his own thread on the neat HOB FW190 conversion he did! Check it out!

*meat-puppet mode off*

RonKay
08-04-2005, 05:49 PM
I've been building and flying for several years and have as most of us been using glow power. Until recently that is... I've been reading about the electrics and decided to try it for myself. As I like to build I wanted to try something different so I choose the HOB FW190 as my first test subject.

I had an old set of plans that I used but modified it along the way. As I've been reading the key to having these electrics or for that matter any model be a good solid flyer is the build strong, straight and LIGHT. I used the best balsa I could find... I also made some changes to the wing and choose to use a Clark 15% and extended to wing from 36" to 38". This was a test model and I was not looking for rocket like performance ... just a good flyer. I also choose the Northeast Sail brushless combination of Momba brushless in combination with a PHX25 controller, 4.3:1 gear drive, HD9 x 4.7 and a LiPo 3p1s 11.1v 1200Mah. The FW is designed with a full floating elevator and ailerons... two miniature servos and an RCD standard receiver. Total ready to fly weight is 19 oz. No landing gear so hand launch is the ticket... I balance the CG is 25% to start... Full power is using about 5 A. Note 5A x 11.1 ~ 55.5 Watts. According to rule of thumb 50 - 60 W/P will be a good solid flyer with power to spare.