PDA

View Full Version : Super Cub motor mod help please

joeted
07-11-2007, 07:08 PM
Hello all
Im still pretty new to all this so I dont properly know the ins and outs of the planes yet so was wondering if you legends could help me please :)
As youve probably guessed I own a Super Cub and its great but I wanna push it further.I want more power and for it to last alot longer in the air
Ive been reading up alot and apparently I'll want a brushless motor , brushless ESC , new propellors , new batteries etc etc.
Now Ive been shopping around but I dont know for the life of me what brushless motor goes with what ESC etc etc ,Ive heard you need an ESC with more amps than the motor and I'll want Li Po batteries and wot not.Is there other little things I'll need , Is it a case of just taking the original motor out and screwing the new one in and stuff like that I'd like to know please.
What Im really after from you lads was an in depth easy to understand details for a beginner of how to do this please.I'd be really grateful for your help.
Any links to good motors , ESC's etc etc would be good too.
Thanks alot everyone
Joe

brnyrbbl
07-11-2007, 07:21 PM
I can partially answer your question. First off it's not as simple as swapping the motor and adding a brushless esc. The Super Cub uses a proprietary radio system with built in esc. So in order to upgrade to a brushless / lipo setup you would need to replace the transmitter/receiver, servos (SC uses unconventional 5 wire servos), and then add the brushless ESC and Lipo. I'm not sure if there is an easy way to bypass the ESC portion of the stock receiver and still use the rx portion since there is no throttle output port on the stock SC receiver which you would need to give the throttle signal to the brushless ESC. I'd personally get a plane that can give you what you want. The SC is a trainer and unless you really like it that much, it's not really worth the money to upgrade IMO. Good luck!

Gnascher
07-11-2007, 07:37 PM