PDA

View Full Version : Great Planes Combat Corsair Problem

Gullwing
11-06-2005, 10:38 PM
I have been hanging on to a GP Combat Corsair for a few months. I built it in mind of converting it to electric. It is 1/12th scale, with the weight range of 2.5 to 3.0 lbs. I put alot of thought and research into the power system. I finally bit the bullet and went with the Hobby Lobby's setup with the exception of the battery. I have a TP 3s2p 4200mah. the setup is as follows
AXI 2808/20
Jeti 30 esc
Thunder Power 4200mah bat.
ACP 10x7E
This setup gives 265 watts and 45oz of static thrust........Ok the problem part... After I installed the power system, I can not get the CG right... I have moved the battery as far forward as possible, moved all electronic forward and figure it will take another 5oz. in the front to balance. It should balance at 2.5 inches from the leading edge. At that weight I will be pushing the 3lbs mark, which will push me out of the 100 watts per pound mark that I am wanting to keep. Does anyone have any idea what I could do? Thanks for any help.........GW

timocharis
11-07-2005, 04:29 AM
I'm so sorry to see that happen again. So many models out there are designed for equipment two or three generations back, and end up tail heavy. Probably this is the case yet again, though I am not familiar with that particular model.

The closest thing I have to good news is, 5oz on the nose will typically mean only about an ounce in the tail. And other than just loading it down with dead weight, or getting a yet bigger motor and battery, your only remaining option is surgery on the tail section. The question is, do you have any weight back there you can get rid of?

Dave

Gullwing
11-07-2005, 04:40 AM