PDA

View Full Version : Sky Beetle Build

n001pa
11-07-2005, 02:35 AM
Ok folks. This is my first build thread. This is a Flying Styro Sky Beetle. I picked this up on ebay for a song. I have always loved the lines of this plane but Hobby Lobby stoped selling them for some reason.

This version includes a 280 motor and gear box but I wanted to build it as a true glider and possibly get my brothers Chubby Lady to tow it up. He has started a thread here (http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2290) for help on setting it up right.

First impressions are very good. I like the quality and packaging.

n001pa
11-07-2005, 02:55 AM
This glider probably wouldn't be real good for a complete newbee. The instructions leave alot to be desired. The illustrations are decent but the text is pretty badly translated. On the plus side there isn't much to the plane so you should be able to figure everything out if you have built one or two arfs in the past.

The parts look real good and I kind of like the motor and gearbox setup. It will end up on another project.

n001pa
11-07-2005, 02:58 AM
The first challenge would have to be getting the landing skid on right. It was a little tricky but having an extra set of hands helped.

n001pa
11-07-2005, 03:48 AM
I think I am going to do my first mod here. The radio installation will be very diffecult. All of the gear is installed through the cockpit and there just isn't any room. I am going to cut the top of the fuse loose from the cockpit forward to about a half inch from the nose cap. This should give plenty of room to install everything and to change the battery. I will then use very thin magnets to hold the hatch in place.

n001pa
11-09-2005, 06:52 AM
I got the new hatch cut out. Will make it alot easier to install the radio gear. I also got the tray for the radio gear in it.

n001pa
11-09-2005, 07:15 AM