PDA

View Full Version : what's the typical life of LiPo's

rcpilot
11-15-2005, 02:46 PM
I am new to LiPo's and have been flying a Rimfire brushless + BL-08 controller on a Kokam 1500 mah 2 cell pack's for the last two months or so. Basically a relaxed weekend flyer

I never abuse the batteries - max amp draw well below 10 C - and rarely recharge the pack at the field

Just wondering how long will the battries last - I mean how many rechagres?

Also what kind of life does one get from LiPO packs when used on hot 3D aircraft ?

Any source where I can get info regarding life of LiPO's

Unbalanced prop
11-15-2005, 03:09 PM
Tough question rcpilot.........I have packs that didn't make fifty cycles, but I also have a few in the 100 to 200 range. I would beware of the cheap "China made" packs as they don't seem to last. Right now TP Prolites and Tanic packs are performing the best for me. I am also using a Dualsky (1050) pack that is holding up well also. I don't push my packs hard and I think that helps with pack life.

You'll probably get a lot of different opinions on brands and I don't want to bash any product. I have used Apogee, Kokams, Polyquest, Maxamps, Etecs, TP, Tanics and Dualsky cells. There are a lot of brands I have no personal experience with that probably perform fine and it seems each new "generation" of cells is better then the previous. Like I said.....tough question! Your mileage may vary.

Doug

hoppy
11-15-2005, 03:45 PM
Speaking in broad generalities, perhaps ~50 cycles under maximum draw use and up to 500 cycles at 1C draw.
The lower the current draw the longer the pack will last.
Charging to less than 4.2V/cell increases cycle life.
Discharging only to voltages well above the LVC increases cycle life. (Stop flying before LVC kicks in)
Cooling battery increases cycle life.

Short life techniques-
Run battery at maximum continuous discharge level.
Discharge battery to less than 3V/cell
Run battery in an insulated space.