PDA

View Full Version : Wiring Question

sloper
11-18-2005, 03:39 PM
Hello, It's my first time here. I have a wiring question. I'm building a large pusher jet. I had intended to put the ESC in the battery hatch for ease of access but I read somewhere that you should not extend the wires between the motor and ESC. Since it is about 30" from motor to hatch should I put the ESC by the motor and extend the battery wires? Which wires are more likely to cause glitches? Thanks for your input.

qban_flyer
11-18-2005, 04:25 PM
Hello, It's my first time here. I have a wiring question. I'm building a large pusher jet. I had intended to put the ESC in the battery hatch for ease of access but I read somewhere that you should not extend the wires between the motor and ESC. Since it is about 30" from motor to hatch should I put the ESC by the motor and extend the battery wires? Which wires are more likely to cause glitches? Thanks for your input.

IMHO, I always have the ESC no more than 12" from the motor, preferably 6" and as far away from the RX as the ESC's throttle cable will allow me to. :)

sloper
11-18-2005, 08:35 PM
Well that would mean a 30" extension on the ESC Rx lead which would be next to the battery wires. What is the reasoning behind the short ESC to motor wiring?

hoppy
11-18-2005, 08:38 PM
From an ESC manufacturer - http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=262485&highlight=extend+

slipstick
11-18-2005, 09:09 PM
If the motor is brushed you can do whichever is easier. If it's brushless then extending the battery to ESC wires can cause real problems.

Steve

3dfoamworks
11-18-2005, 09:31 PM
I'd maybe add a Ferrite Interference Choke.

sloper
11-18-2005, 10:04 PM
I'll be running a Mega 22/30/3 with a Jeti advance 70 opto on 14 GP 3300 cells. I hope to pull between 50 and 60 amps.

trogdor
11-18-2005, 10:31 PM
If the motor is brushed you can do whichever is easier. If it's brushless then extending the battery to ESC wires can cause real problems.

Steve