PDA

View Full Version : Method For Attaching Bipe Struts???

flyranger
11-22-2005, 12:14 PM
Found a plan in *.dxf format for "smbipe" online. Everything looks straightforward except for the method of attaching the turtle deck struts to the fuse and wing and the cabane struts to the upper and lower wing. I've never tried a biplane before and wondered what is the technique used?

Dereck
11-23-2005, 03:16 PM
Found a plan in *.dxf format for "smbipe" online. Everything looks straightforward except for the method of attaching the turtle deck struts to the fuse and wing and the cabane struts to the upper and lower wing. I've never tried a biplane before and wondered what is the technique used?

Number of techniques used is probably on a level with the number of bipe designers!

There's a great book on bipes in the "Harry Higley" series - not sure who publishes them, but I've even seen Higley's in hobby shops. Shouldn't be too hard to dig them up.

Your pdf - looks like the top wing is banded onto rails atop the CS struts. Struts are often music wire bent to run along hardwood transverse rails between the fus sides, or I've seen them run along the fus sides themselves. Can be either bound / epoxied onto the structure, or slipped into brass tubes glued in place - the latter makes it easier to cover the fuselage as you can remove the CS struttery.

Interplane struts are even more fun - for starters, are they decorative or structural? Structural is not much harder than decorative, and makes them work for a living. But I've designed and flown a succesful bipe where the wing interplane struts were actually #64 rubber bands stretched between hooks in the wings...