PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on the Trex 450 for a beginner

BobbyDog
10-22-2007, 06:29 AM
Hello everyone,

Well I just cant stand it anymore, I MUST have a heli! I've been flying planes now for 2 years and have resisted the urge to buy a heli, but the wife brought home a AirHogs mini heli today and man is it a fun little thing! I just spent a few hours doing some reading and research and from what I can tell, the Trex 450sa is a good heli to start with. Pretty cheap and the parts are readily available. I know everyone is going to say I should buy a tiny E-flite heli or something to get my feet wet, but I'm confident in my abilites to learn quick.

My questions are..
Is this heli as stable a heli as talked about? Even without a gyro?
Am I crazy thinking I could fly this thing as a first timer?
Will my Futaba 7Cap Tx be ok for this?
My lipos are all 1200 and 2100's, will these be ok?
Do I need to order a gyro right off the bat?

Any info on these questions would be very much appreciated. I'll hold off on ordering for a few days. (Maybe, LOL) Thanks in advance.

Bob

Insomniac
10-22-2007, 08:05 AM
I have no experience with single-rotor helis, only a co-ax, but even so I can SRONGLY reccommend a sim. Flying a heli is so much different from planes, even the little 4ch co-ax ones (they are great fun btw). There is pretty much no way you would be able to just take off and hover. While it may be a stable heli, it will not just hover without imput. Get a sim or a small coax one to get you used to the controls, and then try a bigger one with training gear.

aristo63
10-22-2007, 10:46 AM
dont even consider trying to learn a trex without a gyro

BobbyDog
10-23-2007, 03:10 AM