PDA

View Full Version : A Few Newbee Questions!

Alias
11-24-2005, 02:01 AM
I'm new to electrics, I have a mini Edge 540 with a Park 400 brushless motor, 2100 LiPo and I was wondering, I have a Fataba 7 channel radio that I have been using for glow and gas planes, can I use one of the receivers I have for glow power planes with the electric or will I need to get a mini receiver? I understand weight differance in the two receivers.

Next question: I have a Park Zone 25A ESC, will that work with this setup or will I need to use a Pack Zone receiver with this ESC?

Thanks

Steve

debhicks
11-24-2005, 02:08 AM
Steve,

Sounds like the ESC should work just fine. The weight is the issue on the receiver. If your comfortable with what you got try it and see. If it doesn't do well then go with something different.

Not sure on the parkzone esc. I suppose if it manages what it is supposed to manage it should work just fine.

If it does the job it needs to do for your battery and motor it should be ok. Experiment.

Don Sims
11-24-2005, 02:22 AM
Steve, back in the old days before micro gear, we'd take the cases off of our recievers to cut down the weight. But the micro recievers are the way to go.

qban_flyer
11-24-2005, 02:31 AM
Next question: I have a Park Zone 25A ESC, will that work with this setup or will I need to use a Pack Zone receiver with this ESC?

Thanks

Steve

Steve,

If the Park Zone ESC you have is Li-Po capable, it should work with your battery pack and whatever RX you may decide to use in that model, provided it has a universal type connector where it plugs into the RX, some do, some don't.

I personally would get a smaller RX for the type of model you have. Some of the older units are rather heavy when compared to the ones being offered these days for these models. Besides they are not that expensive anymore.