PDA

View Full Version : is my battery peaked?

losi24
11-27-2005, 03:31 AM
i have a intellipeak AC/DC pulse charger and a 9.6V 750mAh battery. this is my first time using this charger and battery. i set it at 1 amp and hit mode select once and it had a red light on peak charge....so i know i did that right. after about 5 minutes it switched to slow charge and the green light on slow charge was flashing. can this have charged that battery that fast? thanks!

Twmaster
11-27-2005, 03:35 AM
Dumb question time. Are you using a Nicad or NiMH pack? If NiMH does the charger grok NiMH? It sounds like false peaking to me.

losi24
11-27-2005, 03:37 AM
yes its Ni-MH and it does take Ni-MH batteries up to 8 cells up to like 3800mAh. heres the charger....

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXUF43&P=ML

Twmaster
11-27-2005, 04:02 AM
This may or may not matter but most 'car' chargers are not too good at charging smallish battery packs like we use in airplanes. I see from the photo it will go down to 500mA charge rate. Maybe you could discharge the pack and then try charging at that rate.

Now this is pure supposition but that charger may not play well with smallish NiMHs. I used to have an FMA Supernova 250S charger. It was terrific with Nicad packs but blew chunks and false peaked every time on NiMH even though it was supposed to be NiMH compatible. :eek:

Just a thought for your consideration.

hoppy
11-27-2005, 04:06 AM
i have a intellipeak AC/DC pulse charger and a 9.6V 750mAh battery. this is my first time using this charger and battery. i set it at 1 amp and hit mode select once and it had a red light on peak charge....so i know i did that right. after about 5 minutes it switched to slow charge and the green light on slow charge was flashing. can this have charged that battery that fast? thanks!

It all depends on how charged the battery was when you started. Try it and see what happens...then you'll know.

Twmaster
11-27-2005, 04:12 AM