PDA

View Full Version : Best way to connect motor to speed control?

peter pan
11-28-2005, 01:26 AM
Hi,

I am brand new to electrics and just purchased a GWS E-Starter with the EM400 motor. Also got the ICS400E speed controller. The guys at the hobby shop said to simply solder the leads from the motor to the speed controller, but I noticed the motor wires have blade type connectors from the factory. When I asked about matching connectors for the speed control (it has just bare wires), the guys at the hobby shop said "just solder the leads together".

I'm thinking I might want to try different motors in this model and want the easiest/best way to make the motor/controller connection. Once the model is assembled, unsoldering the leads might be a little tricky.

Are there connectors for the speed controller? I was thinking of changing everything over to Deans Ultras. I'd appreciate any help. Thanks!:)

hoppy
11-28-2005, 01:51 AM
You could do that. Most motor/ESC connectors are bullet type like the 2.4mm ones shown here http://www.aircraft-world.com/shopdisplayproducts.asp?id=33&cat=battery+%2D+WIRE+and+CONNECTORS

Although they are in Japan, shipping is cheap and delivery is less than a week. Cover Female connector with shrink tubing. Use male on one lead from ESC and Female on the other.

Nice weather, huh?

ragbag
11-28-2005, 01:55 AM
The best way is with a bullet connector between the motor and controller on the small setups like you are doing.
Like you say it makes it easier to change motor and try new setups.

If you are sure that you wont be changing anything, the best of all is directly to the motor, no loss of any kind, but that's not where you are yet. That would be for the high power setup.