PDA

View Full Version : New Scrolling issue...


FlyingMonkey
11-11-2007, 03:12 PM
I am not sure if I am the only one experiencing this, but....

Today my screen just isn't quite wide enough to see all of the page. It happens on every where, not just threads, but on the main pages as well. It seems the header is centered, but everything below it is shifted to the right. My window is just a few pixels too narrow to view it all in one go.

Just thought I would throw that out there...

Liquidity
11-11-2007, 03:14 PM
Currently works great for me

smokejohnson
11-11-2007, 03:20 PM
Everything is still sized right for me too.

Mike Parsons
11-11-2007, 03:21 PM
Fred,
Nothing has changed in the format. I dont see any shift in format on my screen.

FlyingMonkey
11-11-2007, 03:21 PM
Here's a picture to show what I am seeing...

FlyingMonkey
11-11-2007, 03:22 PM
odd, a mac problem maybe?

I'll have to go sign in on the... ugh... PC

Liquidity
11-11-2007, 03:37 PM
Must be. My PC is fine :)

aviatordave
11-11-2007, 05:51 PM
Bill Gates does nice work. :)

FlyingMonkey
11-11-2007, 06:02 PM
on your wallet...

sgf323
11-11-2007, 06:21 PM
Check your Browser text sizes. Should be in the View menu.

FlyingMonkey
11-11-2007, 06:24 PM
I haven't changed anything.

just for some reason, all the panels below the banner have shifted to the right.

aviatordave
11-11-2007, 07:39 PM
does the Mac have a failsafe type option? kick it back a day or two


[Steve Jobs lives just as good !]

FlyingMonkey
11-11-2007, 07:55 PM
it's only Wattflyer. The rest of my forums are fine.

Mike Parsons
11-12-2007, 02:07 AM
Fred,
Did it just start recently? It has to be the way your MAC is handling the code.

Frank Voikel
11-12-2007, 02:37 AM
It's doing the same thing on my Mac. I'm in Firefox, it looks just like Fred's. Hasn't happened before.

FlyingMonkey
11-12-2007, 03:10 AM
just noticed it for the first time this morning.

Slowjohn
11-12-2007, 04:14 AM
Mines doing the same thing as Fred's. I too have Firefox but mine isn't a Mac, it's a Dell.

SJ

FlyingMonkey
11-12-2007, 05:04 AM
and they thought I was crazy....

ok, maybe I am, but not about THIS.

Slowjohn
11-12-2007, 05:09 AM
I was thinking that maybe I had doubled up on my pain meds by accident :D.

SJ

aviatordave
11-12-2007, 05:14 AM
and they thought I was crazy....

Yep. Still do.

Mike Parsons
11-12-2007, 02:09 PM
I'll see if I can find anything out of place. Nothing has changed on the site software. I disabled a couple of mods to see if that changed anything. Of course I cant see if there is a change or not, so Ill need feedback from you guys if and once I change something.

I tested it on both IE and FF on my Dell, home built and Toshiba Laptops and it is doing as designed:

Slowjohn
11-12-2007, 02:45 PM
Howdy Mike,
Mines still the same. I don't know how to send a shot of my screen but it's like what Fred showed of his.

Standing By,
SJ

FlyingMonkey
11-12-2007, 02:57 PM
looks good here!

Slowjohn
11-12-2007, 03:15 PM
...I can live with it.

SJ

Mike Parsons
11-12-2007, 07:31 PM
looks good here!

Did that fix it?

Slowjohn
11-12-2007, 08:13 PM
Hey Mike,
Mine is still off. I have to scroll left & right to read the full text too. Is that the way it's supposed to be now? Seems I remember being able to view the full width awhile back then one day I had to start scrolling back & forth. It's not a big hassle or anything, I was just curious I guess. BTW, about to send you a PM.

Thanks,
SJ

FlyingMonkey
11-13-2007, 12:12 AM
Did that fix it?

I dunno, but it's fine now.

Mike Parsons
11-13-2007, 02:32 AM
Hey Mike,
Mine is still off. I have to scroll left & right to read the full text too. Is that the way it's supposed to be now? Seems I remember being able to view the full width awhile back then one day I had to start scrolling back & forth. It's not a big hassle or anything, I was just curious I guess. BTW, about to send you a PM.

Thanks,
SJ

SJ,
No it shouldnt be that way. Your browser should handle the forum as it is set to configure itself off of your browser widths. Do you know what your resolution is now?

I disabled a hack I had enabled for VBSupport as it appeared to have an impact on table widths. That is why I wondered if it had something to do with it. If Fred is seeing it normal now, that may have been the problem.

Got your PM and coming back at ya'

FlyingMonkey
11-13-2007, 02:36 AM
Mike's hacking at the website again...

Mike Parsons
11-13-2007, 02:45 AM
Mike's hacking at the website again...
Dangerous...aint it;-)

FlyingMonkey
11-13-2007, 03:12 AM
it left me in need of a V8...

Slowjohn
11-13-2007, 05:47 AM
SJ,
No it shouldnt be that way. Your browser should handle the forum as it is set to configure itself off of your browser widths. Do you know what your resolution is now?

I disabled a hack I had enabled for VBSupport as it appeared to have an impact on table widths. That is why I wondered if it had something to do with it. If Fred is seeing it normal now, that may have been the problem.

Got your PM and coming back at ya'

It's 22:40 hrs central and I am just getting email notice of FM's last post. I didn't get any of these since post #26 :mad:. I'm wondering how many I'm missing altogether?
I'll get my ISP to re-create my acct. Tues. morning. Maybe that'll help I hope.
Anyway what I think your asking Mike is my screen size setting which is 640X480. Is that what your asking? Sorry for the delay but it's not me ignoring you at all.

Standing By,
Trying to get ready for flying at sunrise,
SJ

FlyingMonkey
11-13-2007, 12:14 PM
I hate the email notifications.

I just come back often with the "my wattflyer" page saved, so I go right to it.

Then I have a list of new replys to posts I am subscribed to.

Mike Parsons
11-13-2007, 02:28 PM
It's 22:40 hrs central and I am just getting email notice of FM's last post. I didn't get any of these since post #26 :mad:. I'm wondering how many I'm missing altogether?
I'll get my ISP to re-create my acct. Tues. morning. Maybe that'll help I hope.
Anyway what I think your asking Mike is my screen size setting which is 640X480. Is that what your asking? Sorry for the delay but it's not me ignoring you at all.

Standing By,
Trying to get ready for flying at sunrise,
SJ
Yep, that is what I was asking. Our header can only shrink to 720x80 I believe. That is why you are seeing the scroll bars. The header is wider than your set resolution. We have it set at 720 px as usually the lowest resolution seen is 800x600, so the header will automatically stretch to fit that and larger resolutions. I never guessed that someone might be browsing at 640.

If you change your screen resolution to 800x600, the scrolling will go away.

Slowjohn
11-13-2007, 05:38 PM
Hey Mike,
I forget why we had it set there but I'll find out why when I change it. I just got off the phone with my ISP. Wish they'd just give me my own tech so I wouldn't have to explain to each new one what they need to do. It takes a good 30 mins. each time to get my email straightened out again.
On top of that I had a nice reply done for the "Balsa Builds" thread and my computer locked up. Maybe I should stay home with that sort of luck instead of trying to go fly. It's more like a Monday morning here this morning.

Thanks,
SJ

Slowjohn
11-13-2007, 05:53 PM
Yep, I remember now, I can barely read my toolbars and stuff now. I've got the pages so I can read them but can I resize my toolbars so I can read them without a looking glass? I can just here the wife now, she'll think she goofed and I'm going to have me some fun big time :D:D:Q:Q

Standing By,
SJ

Yep, that is what I was asking. Our header can only shrink to 720x80 I believe. That is why you are seeing the scroll bars. The header is wider than your set resolution. We have it set at 720 px as usually the lowest resolution seen is 800x600, so the header will automatically stretch to fit that and larger resolutions. I never guessed that someone might be browsing at 640.

If you change your screen resolution to 800x600, the scrolling will go away.

Mike Parsons
11-13-2007, 06:05 PM
Yep, I remember now, I can barely read my toolbars and stuff now. I've got the pages so I can read them but can I resize my toolbars so I can read them without a looking glass? I can just here the wife now, she'll think she goofed and I'm going to have me some fun big time :D:D:Q:Q

Standing By,
SJ
Not sure what OS you are running, but try this. Hold CTRL down and then press the +. You should be able to increase the page size. Of course even if you have your res set to 800x600, it will add scroll bars as it increases in size. Good little handy tool though for avoiding those looking glass purchases :)

Slowjohn
11-14-2007, 06:19 AM
Not sure what OS you are running, but try this. Hold CTRL down and then press the +. You should be able to increase the page size. Of course even if you have your res set to 800x600, it will add scroll bars as it increases in size. Good little handy tool though for avoiding those looking glass purchases :)

I had already done the CTRL & + thing so I can see the text on the screen but it doesn't do me any good on enlarging the Toolbars.
"OS"???

Thanks
SJ

FlyingMonkey
11-14-2007, 06:23 AM
operating system

Slowjohn
11-14-2007, 07:01 AM
Thanks FM.
SJ