PDA

View Full Version : Phoenix-10 ESC Help


woody
11-28-2005, 07:25 PM
Hi

I am in the UK and have just purchased a Phoenix-10 ESC before I use it can anyone please advise me on the following

1. I tested my outrunner motor rated at 10Amps on another ( larger ESC ) and at full throttle its drawing over 15 amps, by altering the throttle travel on my transmitter ( JR 347 from 100% to 20% on high setting) I can adjust it so that the full throttle position will only draw 10Amps - my question is HOW WILL THIS EFFECT the User Programmable features as FULL THROTTLE is required to set the programme or will the Auto Calibrating Throttle adjust to the new full throttle position?
OR
Do I programme the Phoenix-10 at the full throttle setting ( 100%) then after programming set the throttle to the lower setting so I am only drawing 10Amps or will the Auto Calibrating Throttle overide it


This is my first castle creation ESC so i have never programmed one before

Many Thanks for your Help

rcers
11-28-2005, 07:30 PM
Nope Woody you can't.

Let me be clear, although you may be able to limit the travel via a TX computer software setting, but you little ESC sees 15amps or 0amps. They simply turn on or off (very fast mind you). They don't actually cut the current flow.

You must decrease the prop size or pitch.

Mike

woody
11-28-2005, 07:50 PM
Thanks Mike

Not too sure what you mean by--
They simply turn on or off (very fast mind you). They don't actually cut the current flow.

So the only way to reduce the amps is to fit a smaller prop or larger ESC

Thanks Woody

rcers
11-28-2005, 07:54 PM
The ESC gives zero power when the stick is at idle. At full throttle it passes all the power the motor draws. At partial throttle settings it give full power, then zero power, then full power then zero power and it pulses like that (several hundred times per second!) to give the illusion that it is at partial throttle.

So they only allow two settings on or off. At partial throttle settings it fakes you out, by switching between full and off so fast you can't tell the difference.

But you have the main point, the only way to adjust with the outrunner (one disadvantage to them) is you can only mess with the prop pitch and size. On in-runner motors (motors you gear) you can change the gearing to swing the prop you want at the power setting your motor/esc/battery can provide.

Get it now? (sometimes I am not the best explainer!)

Mike

woody
11-28-2005, 08:24 PM
Mike
You explained that very well, i have just sent an email to castle creations about it so it will be intresting to hear there answer,
Thanks for you help
Safe Flying
Woody

Rugar
11-28-2005, 08:45 PM
Mike explained it very well. Bottom line is you either have to prop down to get your WOT amps below the 10 amps the Phx 10 is good for, or get a ESC that is capable of handling the 15 amps WOT that your motor is pulling. Propping down seems to be the way to go since you stated your motor is only good for 10 amps. You didn't say what motor you have though. Some motors are rated much lower then they are capable of such as Axi's.

woody
11-28-2005, 09:27 PM
Rugar
The motor is a Jamara Magnun AL M1048
http://shop.jamara-produkte.de/product_info.php?cPath=73_74_238&products_id=1101
I first tried it on a 11.43 prop and a quick burst draws 30Amps, then on a 8.4 its drawing 15 amps but its rated at 10amps
Do you think i should change my ESC from 10 to 25 ?? in case i fry the 10 ESC

Woody

rcers
11-28-2005, 09:43 PM
Nope that motor shows a max current of 10 amps, and on that small dude I would bet that is it. You need to drop the prop size considerably.

With a KV of 1048 on 3s Lipoly I would start with a 9x4.7 or so prop and see what you get...

Mike

Rugar
11-28-2005, 09:50 PM
Your Phx 10 will work fine for that motor. You just need to get the amp draw WAY down. What kind of prop are you trying? (Brand)

CorsairJock
11-28-2005, 09:55 PM
With a KV of 1048 on 3s Lipoly I would start with a 9x4.7 or so prop and see what you get...
Mike

For the most part, I gotta agree: the 1st thing I looked at was that KV rating, and 1048 in this size motor is just NOT gonna swing an 11" (or 10") prop with 3S Li-Poly and live very long. Even if you get a speed controller that will handle it, the motor won't.

Actually, I think I would try a 9 x 3.8 for the 1st choice.

rcers
11-28-2005, 09:59 PM
Actually, I think I would try a 9 x 3.8 for the 1st choice.

I normally would too, but I will tell you something odd that I have found with the APC-sf props. My 9x3.8 actually draw MORE amps than the 9x4.7! Yep. Checked more than one too.

Stick them on your meter, you might be surprized! I have not found this with any of their other props SF or thin-e.

Strange!

Mike

timocharis
11-28-2005, 10:23 PM
APC 9x3.8 is a power pig. That motor will probably hum with a GWS 9x5 3s.


Dave

woody
11-28-2005, 11:25 PM
Prop
I have only tried a GWS EP 8040 , this was drawing 15 Amps , would a slow fly prop draw less amps or more ? going to a 9x4.7 would this draw more amps

Woody

Rugar
11-29-2005, 12:06 AM
What are you using to check your amp draw? Something dont sound right here.

woody
11-29-2005, 12:22 AM
Using Tornado 100Amp Watt meter
http://www.e-flight.co.uk/e-flight-brushless-controllers.asp
Its reading 15amps, I havnt used the Phoenix-10 ESC yet in case its not up to the task only being 10amps , I ran the motor using a Jeti 30 Advanced Plus first to see what the motor was drawing first, good thing i did as it may have fried the Phoenix

timocharis
11-29-2005, 01:02 AM
woody,

Something is wrong. A ~1000 Kv motor drawing 15 amps with an 8040 is a scary thought. For comparison, I have a Nippy 0808/98 that draws about 5-6 amps with an 8040 (980 Kv). Something sounds weird.


Dave

rcers
11-29-2005, 02:35 PM
Yep something is up......at the 30 amp burst reported the wires on those coils would have been glowing!

Woody I think something is up with your meter?

Mike

woody
11-29-2005, 08:37 PM
Hi All
Just tested my Tornado/ Himax 2025/4200 on 6.61 http://www.hobbyhorse.com/himax.shtml turning a GWS 10.8 slowfly prop and its drawing 10.75Amps so I reckon the meters working OK as it was about that the last time i tested it.
Spoke to the dealer today about the Jamara Motor, he said that they had tried on in a stockie and would hover at just over 1/4 throttle compared to an Axi it replaced would hover at half throttle. He said they are more powerful than the Axi but couldnt remember which one
So i am now realy confused, so is my only option to use a larger ESC

Woody

rcers
11-29-2005, 08:45 PM
Something is up Woody. The KV may be wrong on the motor, but man I would be afraid to use that tiny motor at more than 11-12 amps.

Good luck! ?! ;)

Mike

Rugar
11-29-2005, 08:58 PM
You will for sure have to use a higher rated ESC. If you decide to go for it, keep a close watch on the motor temp.

woody
11-29-2005, 09:05 PM
Thanks Guys
Will have to buy another ESC a Jeti 18 or Phoenix 25 maybe another motor its for an Ikarus Stockie about 9oz AUW any recomendations

Woody

Rugar
11-29-2005, 09:14 PM
Thanks Guys
Will have to buy another ESC a Jeti 18 or Phoenix 25 maybe another motor its for an Ikarus Stockie about 9oz AUW any recomendations

Woody

I love my Little Screamers motors for foamies.