PDA

View Full Version : New to Lipo: A couple of Questions

Beelzebub
12-01-2005, 05:56 AM
Hi Everyone,

I've been lurking on this forum for a month or so, and there is some great information. I'm fairly new to RC flight, and I'm hooked. I have a couple of questions in regards to Lipo's and there discharge rates.

I've read through all of the FMA guides, battery University and a number of posts and this is what I have come up with. Please tell me if I'm wrong.

I currently have two lipo's.

#1 is an Electrifly 1250 mAhr 7.4 V with a 15C max discharge.
#2 is a EPKokam 1500 mAh 11.1 - I'm not sure about the max discharge, but I'm assuming it's 15C, but if anyone has this battery I'd like to know for sure :cool:.
I understand the charging aspect, but the discharge is a little confusing.

For #1, the max discharge rate is 15C or the equivalent to 18.7A (15 X 1.25). This would get me about 4 minutes of Flight time (really 2-3 minutes, so I don't drain it completely), and would deliver 18,750mah for 4 minutes. The confusing part is that the battery chart that came with the battery says max discharge rate is 9.6A :confused: That would give me double the flight time, but the max discharge rate would only be 7.68C. Anyone know why the battery chart is different than the battery specs on the package?

#2, would have a max discharge rate of 22.5A (15 X 1.5), this also would give me a 4 minute flight time. But once again, the battery chart says max discharge current is 12A or 8C.

Are my calcs for 1 and 2 correct, and if so does anyone know why the battery chart and battery packaging would be different? Anymore info would be appreciated :cool:

Thanks.

This site is sweet!

Geoff_Gino
12-01-2005, 06:41 AM
Hi Beezlebub