PDA

View Full Version : Does a conversion chart exist?

rdalemercer
08-08-2005, 05:03 AM
The title of this thread is a little misleading?

I was hoping to see a chart that accurately converts a Gas or Glow I/C engine to the appropriate "electric" application.

Another good chart would be the battery configuration chart 2p4s, vs 4p2s and why. What are the battery continuous load times for each of the battery types?

I'm a heli pilot and would love to convert my Hirobo EC135 to electric. I currently fly it with an .90 and get approximately 15 minutes of flight - which, all things considered, I would like to maintain.

Matt Kirsch
08-08-2005, 02:26 PM
There are some general rules of thumb regarding airplane conversions, and more than likely, some regarding helicopters as well. I have yet to delve into the weird and wonderful world of helis, and my brother the heli nut isn't into electrics yet.

For airplanes, I've boiled all the rules of thumb regarding power-to-weight down into two that will cover 95% of all conversions:
1. For glow-like sport plane performance, 100 Watts per pound of all-up airplane weight.
2. For 3D performance, 150 Watts per pound of all-up airplane weight.

Once you figure out how many Watts your plane will need, you split it out into Volts and Amps to figure out the battery. Volts times Amps equals Watts. Generally you want to keep the Amps as low as possible, to work with the available equipment, keep the temperature down, and keep the flight times up. We can explore this facet of a conversion further if you'd like. It seems like a whole bunch of "voodoo" from the outside but it's really logical and quite easy once you've been through it. Full-scale airplane designers use similar methods for figuring out what kind of power they need, using horsepower, of which Watts is the metric equivalent.