PDA

View Full Version : First seaplane?

Andrew Hendler
12-24-2007, 07:50 AM
I am looking for a good first seaplane. I am a newer pilot and self taught but right now I fly a stryker f27c and am confident with it. I also fly a slow stick, a slo-v, and a 400 wing. I also put in lots of hours on realflight before I flew my first time, and still put lots of hours on it every week. I have about 3 major crashes so far, but every thing was either replaced or put back together so no big deal (it is going to happen no matter what).

Any way I want to keep the slow stick the way it is for right now and wanted something a little more scale. I was thinking of doing the electrifly seawind with the recommended setup but want it to be more of an easy flyer for the moment so I was thinking of putting the FMA copilot in it to make it fly alittle easier.

Any input would be great

Don Sims
12-24-2007, 12:55 PM
Andrew, my favorite was a GWS Beaver with floats on it. The plane was fairly stable in flight, easy to take off and land on water and the floats were removable.

Andrew Hendler
12-24-2007, 04:32 PM
I do like gws stuff and the beaver is a cool plane but i have always liked the look of the seawind

bawbeeseboy
12-24-2007, 06:53 PM
A GWS Beaver is a great way to start. A brushless out runner , small lipo, corrosion x and your all ready to go. Enjoy.

Don Sims
12-24-2007, 10:06 PM
The Seawind is a cool looking plane. I haven't noticed anything in the forums about it and am leary of reviews. If you can fly the Stryker well, you should be able to handle most other planes.

donjiskra
12-28-2007, 03:02 PM
Andrew,
The "Seawind" is a great flying model, however it may be a bit fast for you as it really moves quickly. Those who can handle it make it a beauty to behold. I would advise a more "sedate" flyer, like the recommended GWS "BEAVER". You won't be disappointed.
Float flying is a lot of fun.
Don

LAbelle44
12-28-2007, 06:27 PM