PDA

View Full Version : details on building a motor test stand?


magfluxman
08-07-2005, 06:31 PM
Can you direct me to a site with details on building a motor test stand with thrust & torque measurements?

Tom Korn
08-07-2005, 06:43 PM
I just ordered a Little Screamer, do you think it will have enough power for a Foamfly Frog or a Bantam Bipe? (heh-heh)

flypaper 2
08-07-2005, 11:43 PM
I have two of them, one in an Icarus Shocky and one in a Convair Pogo. Both weigh around 9 or 10 oz with batt. pulls both vertically forever. Very happy with them.:D What would your planes roughly weigh?

Tom Korn
08-08-2005, 11:35 AM
Both weigh less than 10 oz, but they don't have ailerons.

Mike Parsons
08-08-2005, 02:06 PM
Can you direct me to a site with details on building a motor test stand with thrust & torque measurements?
magfluxman,
I have some photo's around here somewhere showing a couple of different thrust stands. I'll see if I can find them.

If you want something premade, Balsa products sells a thrust stand with or without a scale. Combine it with a Tach and wattmeter to gather more data.

http://www.balsapr.com/catalog/moreProducts/SpecialtyView.asp?ProductId=V267609
http://www.balsapr.com/catalog/moreProducts/SpecialtyView.asp?ProductId=V786359

Dr Kiwi
08-19-2005, 03:13 PM
Can't help you with the torque measurements (I tried one set up, with only modest results), but thrust we can do with considerable accuracy.

Here are various pictures of the **** Hanson/Dr Kiwi thrust stand.

Cheers, Phil

batman
08-20-2005, 08:05 PM
Nevermind.

Dr Kiwi
08-21-2005, 07:50 PM
Here are a couple of links with more info on the "thrust stand" topic.


http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=328085&highlight=thrust+checker

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=340150&highlight=Hanson+test+stand

ragbag
08-25-2005, 10:22 AM
Here is my version of the thrust meter. Got the postal scale from Office Depot.

876

The servo tester does make it better than fooling with a transmitter, which I used till I found the tester. I am limited to 12 inch props at the moment, which can be changed when needed.

By George