PDA

View Full Version : typhoon components in SS for AP?

Idaho
01-03-2006, 07:29 AM
Hi. First post here. This might be off the wall as I'm a beginner.

I have a Parkzone Typhoon still in the box. I've decided I want to practise more with a slow flyer before trying the Typhoon. My prior experience is with a Firebird XL (electrics went twitchy). I've practised a lot with FMS with 3D models but would like to get a slow flyer I can use in the area around my house and am hooked on the idea of AP.

I've been considering the Slow Stick, but had the idea of using the Typhoon components and have no idea if this is feasible with this model. I also see the Magpie talked about for AP. I'm guessing it comes with a flight pack. I'm open to all ideas. I would like ailerons - if I go SS I'll mod it right away.

The Typhoon has a Parkzone BL400-15T brushless motor with 8:1 gears, 10.8v Ni-Mh (option for 2100 3 cell li-po), 4 channel radio (plus aux on 5), 6 channel receiver. Weight is 26 oz. Wingspan 39.5".

Anyone know what would be a real good fit? I'd especially like to be able to use the same batteries. Going lipo would then be easier on the pocket book. The Typhoon servos are junk so I'll use them for the camera and get upgrades for the plane.

Of course I'll develop some skill with the slow flyer before doing the AP mods.

Great forum.

Arlie

kuzikood
01-04-2006, 03:00 AM
keep the typhoon in the box and just buy a cheap 4channel jr radio for the slowstick or if your into ap mountain models is probably the way to go but beware when you buy a MM plane you get a bag with some hardware some preshaped foam a few pieces of balsa and some realley realley good instructions it is a kit not an arf

-kuzi-

Idaho
01-04-2006, 06:07 AM
Thanks for the reply. If you have a minute I'd appreciate hearing why you recommend against utilizing the typhoon components in a slow flyer.
(It's a learning process)
Arlie

qban_flyer
01-04-2006, 03:08 PM
I concurr with Kuzi's recommnedation.