PDA

View Full Version : Do you know this Turnigy TR 35-30C ?


Sproket
05-14-2008, 06:17 PM
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=3883

Just curious about feedback on this. Looks like its in between 450 or 480 specs.

I was gonna fly a HD1060 with it or try 9060 also.

Thanks

hillbille
05-19-2008, 06:50 AM
My $0.02 worth of experience with the Turnigy line is that they do MUCH better with APC style props rather than the flexy GWS props. Lots of torque and needs a stiffer prop to put it to use, About equal to a EF480.


Great motor for the price!!


Hillbille

Sproket
05-19-2008, 03:53 PM
Yeah thought I would try it. thought it was around 480.

We will see soon. :)

pilotpete2
05-20-2008, 12:49 AM
I have that exact motor in my GP Electrifly Yak 54. Pulls about 22A on 3S lipo with an APC 11-5.5E prop. Hovers at half throttle:), have been very pleased with it so far.
Good luck,
Pete

telemaster
05-24-2008, 04:58 AM
Got the same motor in a reactor. Can't decide yet if it works best on the 11*5.5E, 11*4.7sf, or 12*6E. Gonna get a 12*3.8sf and try that soon, I do live at 5500ft so my amp draw is a little lower.

telemaster
05-25-2008, 10:21 PM
pilotpete, how heavy is your yak?

pilotpete2
05-26-2008, 01:44 AM
About 26 1/2 oz. all up, with a full tank of electrons:)
At 5500' above sea level you probably will need a little more paddle on that motor;)
Good luck,
Pete

ministeve2003
05-26-2008, 02:25 AM
I have the 1100kv, 1400kv and the 1700kv versions of those...
I put the 1700kv in a 130% shumate f14 and it flew decent.... it was around 40oz
I put the 1400, in a GP extra 330s Ep, It flys great... I don't know weight...
I put the 1100 in a tribute and it flew good... it would have been better if eflite Glued their stupid Tail Better...CRASH... don't know weight on this either...

tip, With all the turnagy and possibly all motors this style, pull the hex nutt out and put a little blue locktite on it and screw it down good... I've had shafts come out and cause problems if I didn't do this...
SK

humboldt guy
09-05-2008, 08:57 AM
I bought 2 of these motors, put the first one in my Typhoon 2, using a 12x6E slow flyer prop and 2200 3s pack. 1st flight, after about 3 minutes just cruising at 1/2-2/3 throttle, motor smoked and quit. I figured maybe too much prop, so went with a 11x7 apc slow flyer prop. Got in 36 flights, pretty good performance, hover at 1/2 throttle, good not great vert (a bit slow). I have an e-flite park 480 in my mini funtana, which is about 6 oz heavier, and this motor is not equal to the e-flite. Maybe equal to a Park 450. 37th flight, motor smoked and quit. I am perplexed. I believe Hobbycity will replace these, but I'm still not sure why I've had these problems, my application seems to be within the capabilities of this motor. Is there maybe a bad batch of these motors? I have an SK version ordered, will try that. Any thoughts?????

Dr Kiwi
09-05-2008, 03:37 PM
I bought 2 of these motors, put the first one in my Typhoon 2, using a 12x6E slow flyer prop and 2200 3s pack. 1st flight, after about 3 minutes just cruising at 1/2-2/3 throttle, motor smoked and quit. I figured maybe too much prop, so went with a 11x7 apc slow flyer prop. Got in 36 flights, pretty good performance, hover at 1/2 throttle, good not great vert (a bit slow). I have an e-flite park 480 in my mini funtana, which is about 6 oz heavier, and this motor is not equal to the e-flite. Maybe equal to a Park 450. 37th flight, motor smoked and quit. I am perplexed. I believe Hobbycity will replace these, but I'm still not sure why I've had these problems, my application seems to be within the capabilities of this motor. Is there maybe a bad batch of these motors? I have an SK version ordered, will try that. Any thoughts?????

You are way over the specs for that motor - with those props you must have been drawing over 30A... and it is only rated at ~20A max (and it gets hot at less than that)! Why should HobbyCity replace them? Even the 1400Kv version is only rated for bursts of 22A/60seconds. 10x6 GWS HD is as far as I'd take this 35-30C (1100Kv).

ministeve2003
09-05-2008, 04:50 PM
Don't run that motor on slowfly props... they draw crazy amps.... Also, 12x6e means (thin Electric) prop, not Slowfly.... so you used a 12x6sf prop.... prob could use a 12x6E prop (for 3d burst.... meaning your mostly at half throttle or less...), I know I use an 11inch, but Like Dr. Kiwi's right about amp draw your way over rated... you should test the amp draw with a wattmeter before setting up your plane.. It would have saved you a motor or two... PS, the standard eflite I belive comes in like a 900kv and 800kv, so you can use bigger props on them....

a motor I recently checked out... I was using a apc 8x4e, drawing 13amps max, I tested with a 8x4.7sf, it drew 22amps... and would have smoked the motor in seconds...

Also, If you would like to compare motor weights... Try turnigy 35x36x910kv motor It'll be twice the motor the eflite 480 is and be same/less weight... I love comparing Weight on motors...

SK

humboldt guy
09-07-2008, 09:41 AM
Dr. Kiwi and Ministeve, thanks for the input. I do need to pick up a wattmeter soon. Also I wasn't aware of the heavier current draw from a slow flyer prop. Makes sense though. I made the mistake of reading the consumer ratings posted on Hobbycity's website for that motor and taking them at face value. Some of them are probably accurate, some are pretty wild. So I learned some things, and will make different mistakes in the future! Thanks again!:)P.S. My Park 480 is a 1020 kv motor.