PDA

View Full Version : Twin EDF set up

fortunanb
08-09-2005, 10:53 AM
Right you experts! At long last I have found this site which gives me hope for the future. FIRST I must make one thing clear. I am an experienced RC pilot to B standard but with IC. My knowledge of Electric Flight is scant and I get TOTALLY bamboozled with the jargon (why do so many motor manufacturers use so many ways of describing their motors?). Every time I try to find an equivalent electric set up to replace a IC motor I get completely lost in the jargon.
So on to my problem:
I have been building a Sukhoi 27 twin jet model from AK models (America) which is designed for a OS91 with prop up front. Now this is not the not I want it to look (or sound) so I want to make it EDF. The airframe mods will be easy enough but outlet area is limited to 3-31/2 inches. So guys tell me what to use? Designed flying weight is 8lbs and I'm prepared to hand launch if necessary. I have ONE Scorpio Fantex 600 fan which I would like to start with but Hey Its probably wrong!!!

Reformed Nitroaddict
08-09-2005, 01:31 PM
ducted fans are not the most effecient powerplant available. For a model of that weight, you would need a DF setup that produced at least 800-1000watts of power, or equivelent to an IC engine that produces about 1.2 - 1.5hp. Hard to imagine a single DF unit that could produce that much power, would probably have to go with doubles.

Ever thought of just a pusher prop?

Also - a model of that size and weight would need to be launched from a bungee launcher, I don't think you could get enough speed with hand launching.

This motor would have enough power to push the plane, but not sure on how you would get it to work with a DF unit: http://www.hobby-lobby.com/brushless-axi4130.htm

jrb
08-09-2005, 03:08 PM
Some of the most experienced EDF guys can be found here ( http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=12 ); a few have stopped by here, but many not.