PDA

View Full Version : Completely Unbelievable!!!

SlapShot
07-20-2008, 11:46 PM
I've never posted a crash story before, mostly because I'm too mad to type. I've been flying RC for almost 20 years now, and up until today, I've never had this kind of luck before, so I have to tell the story:rolleyes:
So the story goes like this: I was flying my Ultra-Stick 25e today in the balmy Chicago summer sun (& humidity) and had just taken off and rolled inverted. I was flying this way and decided to push from the inverted to vertical again, and as I did so, my Thunder Power 4200 mah battery chose this moment to depart from the aircraft. All I saw was the battery hatch go, and then I had NO controls on an inverted aircraft. :eek: I was wiggling both sticks and had no control. Argh! SO, all I could do is helplessly watch the seemingly inevitable. The Stick flew in a lazy circle, in almost level flight. It slowly decended across a road, made a 180 degree turn and flew (still inverted mind you) into a tall clump of grass. I literally ran the 100 yards or so to the plane, dripping with sweat, and after a thorough inspection, the only damage was a broken APC prop. I am still grinning like a fool........:D I found the battery, and it is not so hot, but no biggie there, I have another. I still keep looking it over, but no damage. Well, that was my "R/C Mulligan" as I guarantee this will never hapeen to me again. And, I will come up with a much better battery retention device.....

Don Sims
07-20-2008, 11:50 PM
Great story! I Velcro all my batteries in planes and use Velcro straps as extra insurance on the larger 4s and 5s packs.

SlapShot
07-20-2008, 11:52 PM
Don, I had velcro on the battery, but no strap. That will be changed.....

firemanbill
07-20-2008, 11:55 PM
As far as crash stories go that one is pretty cool!:cool::D

Glad the plane wasn't tore up! That's the kind of crash we'd all like to have.;-)

gfdengine204
07-21-2008, 12:02 AM
SlapShot,