PDA

View Full Version : Want Upgrade my SuperStar to a outrunner

lennyshotgun
01-15-2006, 09:18 PM
Hi all
I'm new to the hobby and have had like 6 flights (with instructor of course) - We finally got some good weather here on the West coast and I got some stick time on my Hobbico Super star.
Included motor is kinda weak, and the 5 minute flights don't leave a lot of flight time - so I want to change the motor to something with more umph and the batterys to li-poli.
The plane weighs a little more then 3 pounds and the advise I've gotten is to chose a motor that is made to handle a little more - 3s on the battery (If I want 15 - 20 minutes in the air would 3S2P do it?)
I'm using a 9/6 prop now and there is about 1 1/2 inchs clearance from the ground standing still so I prob don't want to go much bigger on the prop.
The included motor mounts on 2 Horrizontal beams - would I mount on them with an outrunner or would I need to adapt a firewall mount. Do mounts come with or bought as an extra?
Thanks for all advise - I'm hooked.
Lenny

Don Sims
01-16-2006, 01:17 AM
Lenny, Carlos has had a lot of good luck with your plane by going geared with an Endoplasm or Magnetic Mayhem motor. I like the larger Axis in my larger planes.
Don

lennyshotgun
01-16-2006, 01:46 AM
Don
Sorry I don't know Carlos or what it means to go geared with an Endoplasm or Magnetic Mayhem motor.
Please explain
Lenny

Don Sims
01-16-2006, 03:24 AM
Sure Lenny. Adding a gear system to your motor allows you to use a larger prop or increase your current systems RPM thus increasing the performance of your motor. Both the motors that I mentioned are brushed replacements for your motor and they as well as gear systems are sold by Tower Hobbies. Carlos is one of the members here who has done a lot of work finding optimum systems for your plane, he's also very cost conscious. I'll see if I can find a link to one of his threads.
Don

Don Sims
01-16-2006, 03:29 AM