PDA

View Full Version : Great Planes Flat Out's

M30263
08-09-2005, 10:56 PM
Hey, I'm pretty new to RC'ing and am just learning 3D flight... does anyone have any tips for these new Flat Out's? I've got the Cap 580 and it's a Hand full. I've also noticed you need to pay special attention when building this plane for balance and straight flight purposes... just a slight twist in the body of this plane Will cause you major trim issues. Gluing the carbon too... what glue works best? The foam safe glue didn't seem to hold well when gluing carbon fiber to carbon fiber... CA? Thanks! :o Anyone also have any knoledge of the 3D Foamies?

Michael

ultimate bipe lover
08-10-2005, 04:26 AM
reinforce the landing gear and yes ca works well on the carbon fiber i have the flatana with a rimfire, tp 730 mah 3-cell and bl-8 esc its an awesome flyer and performs exceptionally well

M30263
08-10-2005, 11:21 AM
The only trouble I have with the gear is it wanting to tear back into the wing because the plastic guide wouldn't stick to the carbon very well at the leading edge, I'll give regular CA a try. I also did reinforce the bottom edge with a 1/8" carbon rod, from the rear of the aileron to apr. 3" back of the motor... Since I fly out doors with it, I felt that would strengthen that area up since most of the weight is located there... (battery, esc, receiver and two servos). I've got the 22M-1000 Rimfire, GP 650mah 3 cell lipo and BL-8 esc in mine... plenty of power! Thanks for your input :)

rahtware
08-10-2005, 01:53 PM
I watched a guy fly one of these at a local strip and was intrigued by how maneuverable it was. I noticed that he didn't do much high-speed flying, but kept in in close and flipping around like a flea on a hotplate.

M30263
08-11-2005, 12:46 AM