PDA

View Full Version : cdrom motor, just not getting it.

mescalinedreamz
08-30-2008, 03:07 AM
I took apart a cd-rm. I have the motor out and the bell off. Now i see three wires soldered to the electrical board, M U and V and on the other side of the motor i see some wires inbetween the stators not soldered to the board but to themselves. I have read the 1 hour cdrom motor. I am a hands on type learner. I read, make sure its a delta or something in one of the pics. I thought all brushless are either delta or the WYE. Which i think this motor is. Now cant i unsolder the 3 solder points where W U and V is on the pcb board and put those wires to my esc? But first check ohms to make sure everythings ok first? Can this little cd-rom motor be strong enough for a pico-s litestick direct drive? Im new to all this sorry.And also, i always see a whole bunch of magnets glued, this bell on my cd-rm motor has a complete round disc that is a magnet.Not individual, is this better? i suspect not. Cause if it was then all these brushless kits wouldnt come with a whole bunch of little ones. So desolder the three connections to the pcb and i have myself a tiny brushless motor? Thanks

flydiver
08-30-2008, 03:58 AM
I've never taken one apart but from what I've read it's probably not worth it unless you just want the experience.
If you want to learn to wind motors starting at that level is what I did.
Get a GBv ($10) kit from GoBrushless.com (http://www.gobrushless.com/shop/index.php?app=ccp0&ns=prodshow&ref=GBv)
Go and read the tutorial for more info-there's a link there.

The GBv would likely work well on the pico-it is basically a reworked CD-ROM motor as I understand it.

I JUST got a GBx motor going and have wound but not soldered a TowerPro re-wind (bad original wire).

This is a big area with LOTS of discussions and a lot to learn. Take a look at this page and follow some links: